Day 3 in Belgium


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province
May 31st 2012
Published: May 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

So finally after a few days of jet lag and basic bag carrying/running soreness all is well. One thing I have to rant about is how little leg room planes now have... Seriously I'm 6 1 and it sucked. Aside from that publictransportation is always good for meeting random people... On the train I met a pretty cool girl that worked as a head hunter for a big corparate law firm,very interesting convo, even though I may not be a future lawyer. On the plane I met a group of teachers from Ghent university, who teach other teacher how to teach handicapped children, again good convos In between short and very uncomfortable naps.

Now sometimes claiming to be a nieve American not sure of whats going on works to your advantage and well sometimes it doesn't. For instance I went through 2 checkpoints upon arriving in Belgium, the first was the passport check/ stamp where they ask you what your purpose in the country is and if your traveling with anyone. At the time there were about 4 internatonal planes that landed and the lines for the "all passpoRt" lines were rediculously longgggggggggggg. I notice the Eu specific lines were going really fast soo I may have jumped line and joined them. Now the customs agent looked genuinely annoyed when I gave him my US passport, but I pulled the oh I'm sorry I was just following a group of people from my plane, please don't make me walk allll the way back to the end of the line.. One grunt and a load stamp later I'm walking through with a smile on my face.heheheheh. Checkpoint 2 was after you got all your bags you went through a small area with a bunch of security and x-ray machines. Again a long ass line to get out. I saw a smaller door to the left of all that and well of coarse I began to make my way towards it.. Picture this me with my backpack and lugging a giant Lax bag with eagles lacrosse written across it, while fumbling a bright blue new goalie head that I didn't want damaged under the plane . As I was reaching for the door 2 guards came out of nowhere and stopped me, theyspoke to me in English as I assume I gave off that vibe, again to avoid problems I claimed to not know what I was doing... So back off to the long line I went with no other problems. Owell, sorry oakton haven't gotten arrested yet. Gotta splitquick... More later with photos... I promise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb