So much to say


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province » Antwerp
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

There is so much that I feel that I need to say, stories I want to relate, happenings I wish I could convey, and experiences that I so desire that I could pass on but due to lack of time and word power I cannot succeed.
In Paris on Saturday I had one of the craziest days on record yet. Saw the Musèe d'Orsay and let me just say that the impressionist paintings are simply spectacular. I found the seeminly chaotic brush stokes, that with the right perspective, melted together to form a structured and ordered composition. In this I found metaphors for life. Take a single day in anyone's life as a single stroke of the painter's brush. Stand to close, inspect that single day by itself, and it seems meaningless and unimportant but take several steps away and that day blends into the painting of life to make a truly breathtaking masterpiece.
Now for the crazy part. It invovled me trying to get into a game of football but instead meeting the french equivelent of Harvard students and spent a fun filled night with them. I found myself conveying my romantic view of love to a surprizingly unreceptive audience of about six or seven french students. Speaking of love in the city of love, talk of a reality check. So many times in my travels I have found myself stepping away from what I was doing to realize just how cool and amazing the situation I am in really is.
Passed another day in Chartes. Truly beautiful and deserving of a blog for itself but again simply to much to say.
Monday the plan was to meet Tom and Sabrina (friends I met in London) in their town of Antwerp Belgium. Checked the train schedule and there was a train every hour to Brussels. No problem right? Wrong! Of course I have to have a reservation and of course there isn't another seat open for 5 hours!! I had my bag and was a little tired so I just hung around the train station. Fun let me tell you. Even worse than having to wait was that I had no way to contact Tom and Sabrina. I tried a phone and failed miserably. I deemed it to complicated to do an international call so I was going to wait untill I was in Belgium. Didn't get to Brussels untill around midnight. Tried to call again and again failed completely. So I left the train station with two canadian friends I met on the train (Evelyn and Jackie) and we went hostel hunting. After making pretty much every mistake possible on the metro we checked into the nicest hostel I have stayed in yet. Pretty crazy night as well. Met two Aussies (Mark and Grace I think) and one Swede, kinda.
And then for today finially! Caught the train to Antwerp and finially figured out the phone card thing (after like 10 minutes of trying). Finially met up with Tom and Sabrina and I lamented about how sorry I was I couldn't get ahold of them. They showed me around Antwerp and it is truly a beautiful city. Spent the entire day walking around sightseeing and getting a good feel for the town. If Tom and Sabrina are a good representation of Belgians then Belgium must honestly be the nicest country in existence. I had such a good time with them as they showed me around town. Does my heart good to meet people like them, gives me a rosy picture of humanity.
Alright well I think that is the best I can do for the time being! Miss everyone back home

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb