Vienna the Cold


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
December 23rd 2000
Published: May 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well it seems most of my travelling is done when it is very cold. This was also the case on my first trip to Vienna. Like all my trips there is usually a reason why I end up going to one place or the other. This trip was no different. It started because we needed a place to go and see while Mike was in Germany. No sooner had he arrived than we were out of work. This left us free to go and do whatever we wanted for the two weeks he was there. Dave from the Old Dublin used to work in a place called Molly Darcy's in Vienna. As such he had been telling us all to go and check it out since he arrived in Germany around when we did. Did any of us listen? No. Finally Mike and I decided that Vienna would be our destination. So with Dave's advice and a few names and places we set off on this would be trip. As it was turning out we went only for a few days. Such a shame too. We should have listened to Dave much earlier in our stay, as I would love to be able to go back again and again.

As things progressed at MD's we finally admitted that we had no clue where to go or what to do for more fun this night. We ended up tagging along to a club he said was called Häfn. I don’t know if that was true or a nickname or made up. It was somewhat near the cathedral. I took a picture of it on the way home. Not a good idea to take pictures at 2am. We had a really good time and he again introduced us to everyone he knew there. Most important of the bunch was his friend Nicole, the waitress. She took care of us wonderfully. After all that fun we were heading home to the pension and they were going out for more fun. Mike decides he needs food. And now. Only thing we saw was McDonalds. So yes I ate McDonald’s in Vienna. It was 230am and I hardly remember it now. We took it to go and went off for home.

The next morning found us waking up in time for a shower and checkout and off to the station. We got directions from the man at the desk of the pension but somehow we couldn't follow them. So we went in a store by a tram stop and asked. We had worked it out just ok. We got back to the station with about 45 minutes to spare and just kind of chilled waiting for the train ride home. Noon finally came and we were off. Same wonderful scenery as on the way in. On the way out Mike had finished the first Harry Potter book I had bought as I left Atlanta. So I figured I would read it. That is what I did as it got dark outside. We changed in Nuremberg. We then decided to get off the train in Karlsruhe-Durlach and make our way from there as it was just as far distance wise as going to Karlsruhe Hauptbahnhof and coming back to get home. This proved a bit tricky but we got a cab and made it home. What a trip. I absolutely need to return to this city to explore it in a more thorough way and to live there a while would be the best thing for me.


So on Wednesday afternoon when we woke up we headed to the Bahnhof to price out and reserve our trip. We had discovered online that the Orient Express left Karlsruhe just around midnight and would take us to Vienna by mid morning. What a wonderful solution. Well here is your first tip. Don't try to book an overnight train like that the afternoon before departure. We had to settle for a train to Munich in Thursday morning and then a change to the train to Vienna from there.

Our trip started off nicely. We woke up early and went to the Bahnhof in plenty of time. The one wonderful thing about a two night trip was that a small backpack was all each of us needed. As by now you can tell I am a huge passenger rail fan I loved the trip. Mike slept most of the way but I was awake and checking out everything new. I had been over the line from Karlsruhe to Stuttgart several times in my stay in Germany and all the way to Munich once for Oktoberfest. But from there it was all new to me in the daylight. It was so funny watching Mike try and figure out where he was when we got off the train in Munich. We had been there before back in 1997 and the way his memory worked and didn't work was entertaining. It was amazing as I watched the land change as we headed southeast towards Salzburg. This is where it started to become snow covered. I had previously seen snow cover on my trip through Switzerland to Italy but it always thrills me none the less. Especially since it never snowed in my entire stay in Germany.

It was wandering on into the morning. Mike was out cold as usual on a train. I wasn't feeling very social at the moment so I just continued to sit there and watch the world unfold. Hate to say go by because it was an adventure not a death. Finally we were into Salzburg. I took a picture of the station from inside the train. And we were off. I so love the new border-less Europe. This is not to say that some checks aren't still done but for the most part they do not seem to be.

This trek continued on through several smallish towns and St. Polzen. Yet another station picture. I really wish I had taken pictures of the churches along the way. I do not know what style they were but seemed to resemble those you see in Russia. On TV for me as I haven't yet had the pleasure. As we approached Vienna a sense of excitement and expectation grew. As did the crowd on the train. Our compartment had been ours for most of the trip but now it was full. A few final sortings and we were ready to arrive.

First impression of Vienna was follow the crowd. We entered in to the station and first thing was ditch some of my foreign money. I exchanged the last ever of my lira and got enough money to get some food and some transport. When I finally walked outside the station I knew I was finally there. Not as evident as say Venice but it was a new city and I could tell. We sorted a taxi and gave the driver the paper Dave had given us with Molly Darcy's address. Good thing it was open or we wouldn’t have known what to do. It seems no matter how light you travel it is always too much. We each had a small daypack sized backpack and that was it but when we unlayered our clothes piled high. We ordered a Guinness or two and then asked the barman if he knew Alan or Tony. Well he was Tony I think. Hard to remember which. Anyway we explained why we were there and who sent us and started talking. He hooked us up with a pension that was reasonable and not faraway. So after a snack that passed as dinner we were off.

We wandered a little bit trying to find our way. Not sure where, probably the store at the station, we acquired a map of Vienna. It was fairly helpful and after about 30 minutes we found our way to the pension. It was SO cold there that weekend. I was so amazed at all the buildings, some of which can be seen here on my page. The day ended after we got into the room. I guess we decided it was a better idea to get up early the next morning as it was to be our only full day there.

We woke early and got ready for a cold, cold day. Outside we found it was colder than we thought. So we made our way back into the Rathaus area and walked around the Christmas market. Finally across the street we found a place to eat breakfast. Breakfast had been a special occasion only part of my life since moving to Germany. This turned out to one of the best I had had in a very long time. Eggs, sausage, toast, home fries and OJ. What a pleasant time. After that was done we just started walking around. Neither of us knew much about the town and I have to say I didn't see much more than that small area. We finally made our way past Parliament and to the Art Museum. At this point we decided to check out the museum, as it was too cold to be outside.

The museum turned out to a great use of the day. I saw so many new and interesting exhibits that I was just short of overwhelmed. I believe there was an exhibit on ancient Persia but I may not remember the location correctly. We finally decided we needed a break so we went and had tea at the cafe. This was also fun to watch so many people coming and going and just doing their own thing. After another hour or so of culture we decided it couldn't still be as cold as in the morning. And out we went. It was bordering on darkness now and I was able to get some very good shots of Parliament and the Rathaus along with the opera house. By the time we tried to take a photo of Molly Darcy's it was too dark. So we went inside. Had a few drinks and got some food. Mike was feeling a bit down on things and wanted to call it a night and said at 730 he was done. So he needed the current time. Asked me how to ask for the time. I told him to say "Verstehen Sie Englisch?" Turns out he asked the right person. His name was also Mike and we talked and he introduced us to all his friends. Mike's 730 plan was off.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb