15 Days remain...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
December 8th 2010
Published: December 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dear readers,

It is with much sadness that I inform you of my European departure in a quick 15 days. No matter! I feel it is time to return where I belong - to my great nation - the true North, strong and free. It's time to reconnect with Canadians, it's time to reconnect to reality. My time in Vienna has been astounding - but as I answer to people who ask if I will you miss Europe, "I will miss Europe when I am home as much as I miss Canada while here." The only difference of course is that I belong in Canada. Even after seeing amazing Europe - I cannot seem to quit thinking that it is Canada which is the best country in the World. It really is "true Patriot love."


Some Random News
Let us first start with a short, rather amazing(!!) anecdote. My sister is currently in Vienna to visit the city and her brother. As Eliza, her and I were walking down the street a couple of nights ago, I had actually stopped in my tracks, and said "Oh my God... It's Einstein!" Now, I know that Einstein is dead (RIP), but this man looked identical. Big grey hair bouncing out in all directions, the mustache and glasses, not to mention old. I suppose he got that reaction a lot, because when I said it (I suppose a little loud - I was excited) he had looked up and smiled at my amazement. Unfortunately, we did not take a picture, and therefore Einstein will again simply be a ghost.

Anywho - as I said. My sister is in Europe. Deciding to take a little time for herself after an exam, she has decided to spend a few days in Europe - going around couch surfing. She arrived in Vienna Sunday night by train at 11:59pm (an hour late). Monday night, Eliza and I took her out to see the city at night. We began at Rathaus and its lovely Christmas market. And made our way down the Ring past Parliament, on the side of Volksgarteen, and down the middle grounds of the Hofburg palace to see where my meetings take place, the statues, and the National Library. We then walked through the Hofburg grounds and saw more statues, the outside of the Sissi museum, and Spanich Horse Riding School. We then went down the 'glamour' street with stores like Burberry, Don Gil, Mont Blanc, Cartier, Gucci, Tiffany's, etc - which is very nicely marketed (window shopping) and decorated for Christmas. We went down the center street right up to the Stephansdom and then down to the embassy and our u-bahn back home. Very nice walk.

Last night, we had planned to go out and see a bit of Vienna's nightlife. Today is a holiday, and therefore there was a lot of partying going on. Unfortunately, I have to work today, and so could not stay out too late (plus the u-bahn/metro stops running at 1230). Right before leaving work I was invited to a VIP "Young Diplomats Gathering" at a Grand Opening of a Champagne Bar in some hotel. I put down both our names, not knowing if we would be able to enter. After dinner and getting properly dressed for a VIP Champagne party and the commute, we were allowed to enter. Unfortunately, only one free glass of champagne, plus some spritzers throughout the night. It was very posh but in a young, chic sort of way. At 10pm there were no more free drinks, and they were an astounding 5 Euro each. So we left. The night ended quite slow by going to a dead bar and having a drink with a couple of other interns until we decided to catch our metros.

Today, a large bunch of interns and her and I will be attending some Ice Skating. Because it is a holiday, I hope it is not too busy - specifically since we all need to rent skates. Anywho, that will be fun. Then on Friday night (during/after Stammtisch) Kyle arrives. On Saturday, Kristyna will be coming in as well. My sister will be gone by then, but this is another group of people whom I need to show around and then party a little with them (especially Kristyna since I dont know the next time I will see her - shes from Prague for those who dont know her).

Work
More of less, all quiet on this front. I was working at the United Nations Vienna all last week, but this week I am back with the OSCE. We set up a meeting with the Trade Commissioner here so we could find out what he does exactly, what his job entails, and everything else associated with his department. That was good. My meetings for this week are all postponed (since we just had the Summit), but reconvene starting tomorrow. All my works associated with the internship (for school) are due by mid-next week and my internship is completely finished by the end of next week. One week worth of meetings left. I will miss THAT for sure, who gets to have their daily meetings in a 700 year old Palace!?



Anyways!
I need to send a shout out to my two "Little Brothers" Taylor Moser and Nick Oskroba. Both have had their birthdays in the past week (Oskroba today actually). I hope they both have/had a great birthday, and I wish them all the best in health and happiness.

See you soon,
Rob Courteau

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb