My first night to remember


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 28th 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well dear readers, the title of this post may mislead you. It was a night to remember for sure, but let's start with the day. In fact, there isn't much to discuss. The day started rather late - around 10am. My two wonderful hosts and I decided to have a large weekend breakfast, so Florian went out to buy some key components while Allison prepared the table for the upcoming meal (not exaggerating when I say meal). Our breakfast involved the following deliciousness:



Sound like a great breakfast? Don't look at me - I told you in my last post they were great hosts!

So, after just relaxing in the apartment. I decided I needed some time to relax since I had walked a bunch for the past two days. But I decided I wouldn't hang out all day and night, since that would be a waste - and around the same time, Allison came back and told me we were meeting with Florian's friends.

Off I went - met two Austrian girls and two German guys. All very friendly and great to talk to. We hung out and had beer in the MuseumQuartier where the art museums are located, and just hung out. It was rather cold, so we eventually moved it indoors where we continued to just have a good time over a half-litre of bier (not a mistake!)

Next, I was pulled off to another bar - this time with Allison to meet her friends. There, I met two new people (one from Mexico and one from Virginia) and the two people from my first night here (you remember them right?), whom I had dined with. All six of us hung out speaking German, English and French - as we could all at least partially understand each language (me being the worse with German). We had a few more beers and were having a great time. Nothing to specifically remember though!

Then: While having a conversation, a few people from our group jumped up and started to run down the street. I had absolutely no idea why they did it, and neither did the guy I was talking to. The only other person there was the Mexican girl, and she informed us that one of the purse's of the girls was stolen! Someone had reached UNDER the chair they were sitting on - grabbed it - and bolted down the street. Though my friends chased after him, they were hopeless in catching him. A few of us spent the next half-hour looking in trash cans, bushes and under cars to see whether they had just thrown the purse somewhere after taking the cash - but there was no luck in our search.

That event really cut our night short. We were initially going to go out on the town - perhaps bar hop and see where the night took off - but now, at just-after-midnight I am writing this blog. Our night was cut short - and to make matters worse. The keys were in the purse. My friends had to get a locksmith to come let them into the apartment, which anyone could tell you takes more than a smile. After a hefty 240Euro charge for unlocking a door, we have all returned home.

Florian, Allison and I have ordered a pizza for delivery and are looking at which movies we want to watch for when the pizza gets here. My night has nearly come to an end - and though it may have not been the best of nights - I have learned some important lessons about personal safety on the streets of Vienna.

Goodnight - talk to you all soon.

Advertisement



29th August 2010

watch out
I was not kidding when I said that Vienna was bad for pick pockets. Anyway, watch out for those thieves, and enjoy the food and beer (both in moderation). Will you be subletting a space from Allison and Florian? Sounds like a better idea than getting your own pad, if Allison and Florian are looking for someone to share the expenses. Wish I were there too.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb