Return to Wien (Day 70)


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 21st 2010
Published: July 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

natalianatalianatalia

my russian host in vienna, natalia
As exciting as it sounds that I was making my return to the place where I had lived a couple of years as a child, today was really not too special. Just another travel day that I used to catch up on stuff and figure out the rest of my trip. Wrote out five blogs, friended people on FB I had met in the last week, sent out some CouchSurfing requests and most importantly I booked three flights. The first being a flight from Rome to Istanbul, and the second being the return flight. The third is a flight on the 23rd of August from Rome back to Dublin from where I will take my final flight home. So yeh, this means no Greece. It would just be too much money and too much time at sea taking ferry after ferry to get around. I would not have had enough time to enjoy myself so I will have to save it for another trip. I think I will replace it with 3 days or so in Bosnia, hopefully Sarajevo.

Anyways I made the 14:39 train to Wien and split a compartment with this guy from Argentina which was nice since
stephansdomstephansdomstephansdom

stephansdom
I could practice some Spanish and he could practice his English. Gave me someone to talk to for a bit when I wasn't finishing up my book (City of God, highly recommended).

Met my Russian host Natalia at the U-Bahn stop near her place and went back to her place. Like most CS experiences we started by just sitting around with a glass of wine getting to know each other and what not. She is pretty interesting to talk to. I was intrigued by staying with someone from Russia since I will not get a chance to go there this trip and this is one of the best second options. Plus, I've met enough Austrians. Personally, I don't really need to meet many more. We were both pretty exhausted after talking for a while and hit the hay. Big day tomorrow in Vienna.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb