Vienna, Austria!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 19th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another early train on which I slept, and I've made it to Vienna. Not an easy feat either, since after having a compartment to myself for the first hour, two Czech guys (I'm assuming) got on and were chatting loudly, with beers in hand (at 9am!) and then when they left, a group of people (also Czech? Maybe Austrian?) got on and were playing music, talking loudly and playing cards....

So I arrived in the train station, went to find the tram to get to my hostel, and took it in the wrong direction! Good thing I was paying attention -- I only went a couple of stops before I realized, got off and tried going back the other way. I got off at the right stop, but finding the hostel was another story. Not the best directions given by Hostelworld, that's for sure! I had to wait for my room to be ready, and then I was off to see the "Inner Loop" of Vienna.

There's a lot to see here, that's for sure! Went to Stephanplatz first, where there is a huge beautiful church, and then wandered down to the tourist office. The maps they give out, unfortunately, are not very helpful, but I got recommendations to go and see a few spots that are great for photography. They were right! I went to this palace area, and there were domes, and sculptures galore! It's like if you take a walk for 3 minutes, you'll find something else to photograph. There are even ancient Roman ruins that have been dug up and walled off that you can see.

I wandered around for a good 5-6 hours, stopping to get some food, an ice cream (seems to be a daily staple) and sit down. I also took a tram which is supposed to go around the Inner Loop circle, but apparently, it goes well beyond that! I found myself way out in the middle of nowhere (at the end of the line) and just sat put, waiting for it to return to more familiar surroundings. Along the way, I met Mike, a guy from Gambia, who offered to show me around, once he found out I was not married. I politely declined, wondering why he was so interested once he found out I wasn't married. Ya, right. Maybe looking for a green card to Canada???? I don't know.

Anyway, took some night photos, and headed back to the hostel to get some sleep. I seem to running on adrenaline these days, and need to allow my body to rest.

By the way, I forgot to mention that yesterday in Prague I was approached by some (what I'm assuming were) Jehovah Witnesses. This is now the third country outside of Canada where I have been approached with some "reading material". And I saw today some more people trying to give away their magazine. I was just thankful that they didn't approach me here. Maybe I have the words "Save me" written on my forehead?????

Thanks to all of you who have been writing little messages here, or sending me emails. Traveling alone can be a little lonely, so reading news from home is always a pick-me-up. Keep it coming!!!!

More exploration of Vienna tomorrow!

Advertisement



19th July 2009

sounds like you've seen alot in vienna already, sue! i bet you have tons of great photos already...enjoy!
20th July 2009

I get approached by people with "reading material" all the time on the ttc. :-)
20th July 2009

Lots to see alright!
Yes, Michelle, I did see a lot last night, and even more today. At the moment I'm debating whether it's worth going out tonight for some night shots or just rest....
20th July 2009

REST ON THE TRAIN tomorrow!!!! go and take some night shots (perhaps with another dash of ice cream??)
21st July 2009

No night shots
I saw the photos of another traveler's night shots (the ones of the cathedral that I had been contemplating) and wasn't all that impressed, so I decided to pass on it. And if I'd had any more ice cream last night, I would have been very sick!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb