Vienna is Vunderbar


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
April 3rd 1940
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone. I am sitting doing this before I go to a performance of Strauss and Mozart music at the Vienna State Opera.{as you do} Vienna is an amazing city .The architecture is just like the top end of Collins st. only magnified many times. We are docked about ten minutes from town centre along the Danube which is definitely not blue today. There is a lot of shipping and polution is starting to set in but it still has a romantic notion about it. Every day we eat food from the country that we are in and today the highlight is Sacher Torte. After an early meal we are getting a bus into town to the Vienna state opera house which I believe is floodlit rather spectacularly.I hope my photos do it justice. One of the couples that I have palled up with are attending too so I will have good company. Stanley is a dapper gentleman and the trip is to celebrate his 80th birthday. They live in an apartment in Darling Harbour and are taking three months to do middle Europe. Maybe if Michelle sells the shop I might do something similar.Tomorrow we go to Slovakia Cruising all morning and after lunch a guided tour through the city of Bratislava. If nothing else my Geography is improving. The ship has Klimt prints all over it and today I saw some of the originals at the Belvedere Museum. He is a home grown son of vienna but was not looked on very well during his life because his painting were considered too sexy and he used the daughters of rich clients for his models Big scandal. I will send this off quickly now and write more tomorrow. We have to have tea at 5.30 in two sittings to get us to the concert so until tomorrow Auf weidersein. Faye.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb