First Two Days


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 24th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the BusOn the BusOn the Bus

Teresa, Anna, Mateja, and Marjeta on the Bus.
I had planned to write an entry last night before I went to bed. However, because of the time change and my inability to sleep I was unable to do so. I will fill you in though, don't worry.

I arrived in Austria approximately 30 minutes late from my layover in Paris to the loving arms of Mateja and her mother. My inability to sleep in the plane was caused by my growing excitement as I closed in on my final destination and my infatuation with the book "The Mainspring of Human Progress"

I came into Austria, drove with Mateja and her Mother to their home in the 16th district of Wein (Vienna) and I will tell you I wanted to sleep! Their apartment is very big. It has four bedrooms, a well distributed kitchen, many closets, two large bathrooms, a living room, and a back yard equipped with a Ping Pong table. You might as well call it a house. Her father and brother are in a city in the south (The name of which I cannot remember for the life of me right now) where we will have party for her fathers 50th birthday this weekend.

I visited with Mateja, Marjeta, her mother, and Anna Haragan for a while and then I decided that I needed to sleep. Despite Mateja's insistence that I remain awake, I was allowed to nap before dinner which gave me a wonderful reprive to the state I was in.

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ


When I woke up less than an hour later, I was greeted by Mateja's friends Nora, and Teresa. While eating dinner Mateja's mother offered me beer. Ecstatic about my chance to legally have a beer with dinner I accepted her offer. After dinner, we talked, figured out my power converter and just had a lot of general fun. About midnight we decided we would turn in and await the next day.

When I woke up Teresa was there to help us start our day. Breakfast of bread, marmalade, really good coffee and Mateja ate a piece of bread with cheese, salt, and cucumber. While unappetizing as that may sound I must say it was rather good.

We ventured out upon foot after breakfast to view the shopping streets in the 1st district of Vienna. I must say that looking at the architecture this city is full
Austrian FlagAustrian FlagAustrian Flag

Austrian Flag
of rich history. The buildings are absolutely beautiful and I am amazed at how clean it is. Men in Orange suits are constantly cleaning the streets of debris. In most places the streets were near spotless.

The public transportation in Vienna is also quite good. There is a combination of Subway, cable cars, and buses which cater to the population for 1.3 million we ´could get almost any where in the city in less than 1/2 hour. We ate really good Ice Cream, went shopping at H&M and then returned home.

After a complicated shower (yes it took me a minute to figure out) I had dinner with Matjea's family and Anna and continued my German learning. I have to say... this language is SOOOO awesome. The words are so similar to English, and once I am able to pronounce and remember the word, I own it. The words are very similar to English, and the Rosetta Stone that I am doing allows me to establish a connection in between words and Phrases. I plan to have both German 1 and 2 finished by the end of the summer, and I would like to take German in College.
Roman WallsRoman WallsRoman Walls

Old Roman Walls


After Dinner we spent an extended amount of time getting ready and then we went to a bar. Alot of Mateja, Nora, and Teresa's friends were there and I spent a long time talking with all of them about a variety of subjects. As it stands, it is 2:33 right now here in Austria(8:33 in the USA) and I am really, really tired. I felt it my duty to let my friends know whats cracking, and my apologies if I have left anything out. I plan to write in this as often as possible, and every day would be nice, because it would keep me from having to type all this down from memory and it would paint you a better picture of what I am doing.

I hope you are well reader, and please look at the couple of pictures I have attached for your viewing pleasure.


Auf Wiedersehen

Bobby Fiske


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Roman Walls Another AngleRoman Walls Another Angle
Roman Walls Another Angle

Really Really Old Walls in the middle of Vienna
Mateja and IMateja and I
Mateja and I

I look kinda wasted/sleepy


25th July 2008

:)
This is so cool! OMG, Bobby. It's awesome. Thanks a lot for posting. Did you end up taking your laptop, I guess?
25th July 2008

heyy
pictures.!? i cann't find them.....?
26th July 2008

2 Questions
Yes I took my laptop, but I might have Anna take it home with her when she leaves Austria, its a bit cumbersome. oh, shelby.. I had a problem posting them but you should be able to find them by the time you read this.
26th July 2008

Great pics
We can see the pictures! Thanks for sharing. I love you, Mom
29th July 2008

Awesome
Bobby: Just "soak" it all up. Austria is beautiful! Take all the pictures that you can for future reference. Looking forward to keeping up with your travel! Love you!KK
29th July 2008

Well done
Hey Bobby, You Granny KK clued me in to your site. Well done, Me Man.
31st July 2008

Brad
you probably did not read that right... its says Marjeta... thats Mateja's younger sister.. its a Slovenian name :) i love learning about culture

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb