Views from Kalhlenberg and Leopoldberg-Grinzing and the boy of Vienna can they sing!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Guten Morgen,
I hope all of you are doing well. I am trying to escape some of the rain this morning and not sure when I will get a chance to update next as I am meeting my group this afternoon.

Yesterday went to have lunch in the Naschmarkt downtown and had a bratwurst sausage with salads. I know how Gladys loves the food descriptions. It was your typical austrian dish with beet salad, coleslaw, and potato salad too. The Naschmarkt has fish, many bakerei--bakeries, lots of stands with olives, nuts and fruit and vegetables of course. At the end there is a flea market of stuff. It was fun to have this experience to be in the centre of where the action is. There were manz tourists in the markt but it was nice to have a chance to take in all the sights and sounds. Feeling a bit overwhelmed by all the people I decided to take a tram outside of the city to Grinzing--known for their vineyards and 19th century homes I headed up toward the Vienna Woods. At Coblenzl there was a little farm that I stopped to visit--I watched some crazy children chase some hens and chickens, saw the sleeping pigs and mocked the sound of the baaing sheep and goats. I then continued on the bus up to Kahlenberg for my first view of the city below and the Wien and Danube Rivers. It is very lush and green in this parts. If you continue even further up which I did you get to Leopoldberg where you are at the highest point and can see everything below from the grounds of an old kirsche--church.

Last night I sort of took it easy as I wanted to be rested up for church this morning. I went to line up early for a standing spot for the Vienna Boys Choir at the Hofburg in the Hokkappelle. Tickets for those who want to sit for mass cost upwards of 50 euros and you can stand for free. I stood with a bunch of people from the US and we chatted about our travels while we waited for mass to start. I was fortunate to run into 2 Canadians who helped me find my way because I had a hard time finding where to go through all the winding streets--they happened to be from Ottawa and were very kind and chatted about my travels and their travels too. The mass was spoken in German but the music for the most part was in Latin. The Vienna Boys choir are virtually out of sight but their sound is superb and fills the chapel like angels from heaven. What a treat to be able to hear them. They even do a little motet at the end for people to see them. So cute in their blue uniforms. Hearing them sing was a very awesome experience that i will always remember. For those of you who are musically inclined--hearing them is a must in Vienna and a must when travelling here too.

Any way, I am going to get on with my day and head to a few places before I meet my group this afternoon.

Wish you were here. Dealing with the rain today but it has been sunny mostly.

I am here in Vienna til Tuesday then off to the Czech Rep to Czesky Krumlov and then Prague... Looking forward to heading there soon. Life is expensive but lovely here in Vienna... lots of history, culture, music and tourists!

Hope you are all well.
Love
Katy

Advertisement



25th May 2008

books
Katy! Sounds like you are seeing a ton...I was thinking, you should write a book. Call it something to do with "the real way to learn; a teacher's travels." miss you.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb