Spectrums A to Z


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Oetz
May 24th 2011
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As of now, I am in Austria and getting ready to start my new job. And before anyone gets confused, thats Austria. Not Australia. Think Hitler, Mozart and Red Bull.

I am in Tirol and it is probably my favorite place in the entire world, next to St. Augustine. I love the mentality of these people. They are so into being Tirolean but still so excited to meet an American. I am the second American in history to be a resident of Ötz.

Originally I had moved to Europe to be an Au pair in Germany. Bayern was beautiful and the friends I made are absolutely unforgettable. But, after only a few months that felt like an eternity, I knew it was my time to move on. But I can absolutely guarantee that anytime I think Lady Gaga, double dream hands and walks by the lake, I will think of the amazing times I had with two of the most amazing girls I know.

It was a weird feeling, leaving Sanford airport. I couldn't even process the idea of going to Europe. After so much thought, planning, working, telling family and friends...it was real. It was finally happening. I just remember being happy that it was the last time I would be feeling the Florida sun for a while. I was also thankful that I wore my Horde shirt. The man at the counter blocked the seats next to me and handled my comic books with very special care.

I was able to visit the Netherlands, Austria and Slovakia before moving to Germany. Given some luck from the chat roulette gods, I was able to call the friend I had visited in Austria a few months before from Italy and tell him that I would be there in ten hours. I have been here for a month now.

I was told by someone I befriended on the train that 'Sometimes, the light at the end of the tunnel (my move to Europe) is really a train coming towards you.' I immediately thought 'I don't give up that easily' and I am so happy that I didn't. I stuck my head out of the train window for the last forty five minutes feeling freer than I have ever felt. It was exciting not knowing what was going to happen. Just picking up and moving to another country...again.

So now I am in Austria and I start my new job in a week. I feel really confident in my decision to stay here. Everything has really worked out so smoothly despite some bumps in the road (like almost getting kicked out of Austria.) I am thankful everyday for it and it just keeps getting better and better.

As much as I love it here, there is a big part of my that is ready to move on to the next country. With my head, I know that I have my TEFL school to finish and some money to save up before I move again but there is a knot in my stomach that wont be going away until I make another move. Hopefully it gets better with work and a routine schedule.

Rebecca tells me that most people get home sick but I get far away sick. I think she is right.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb