Parallel baby!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Mayrhofen
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This week has proved successful... finally got the hang of this parallel skiing business. I've decided it's more mind over matter. You think about it too much hips, legs, knees etc and you just get confused. My opinion anyway. Must say it's more thanx to the ski instructor this week rather than my wonderful skiing ability! Must say absolutely awesome ski school but where the hell do ski instructors learn their english?!

Example:
Student: 'Look at you drinking and eating on the ski lift, is there anything you can't do?'
Instructor: 'No, I can do everything on a ski lift. Just watch, next time I come up I'll be having a wank!'

Shocking! Suffice to say, the week pretty much continued in this way. Was hilarious, the kids and teachers loved them and we had a great time. Almost hit a red again (in fact they were sneaky and got us on one without us realising) but saving myself for this week. Hopefully I can get the video of us jumping on here. I did a lovely face plant into the snow where I laid laughing till the instructor picked me up. Really need to get me a digital camera. But I should be getting some money back soon to the effect of 250 quid so I think I will splurge. Well either that or a pair of ski boots I have my eye on. Absolutely gorgeous silver and blue Lowa boots with fleecy lining! Or maybe I'll get groups to contribute €2 each to the "Kristin's boots fund"! Joke.

Have to say last week was a bit ropey on the skiing front for the first couple of days. Distinct lack of snow then when we had snow again, visibility was crap. Basically skiing blind down the mountain. Talk about mind over matter. Can't see where you're going so no choice but to ski! But snowfall since has been beautiful so I had a wee ski yesterday back in Mayrhofen. Blue sky, sun... brilliant. That's what skiing is about. Even managed a trip to the infamous Yeti bar post ski. Well, what's skiing without the apres?!

Must say, my last group were absolutely lovely so really hope the season carries on this way as I've had 3 great groups so far. Did have some moments when I wanted to kill one of the teachers on this last trip but everyone else on the trip felt the same so figure it's ok! She wasn't the party leader so can't report negatively on me!! Funniest things were watching the other teachers down a beer on the sly. Just like being back at school. Tell you what, if I ever do an about turn and decide to be a teacher that's what I'll be like. A laugh but respected by the kids. You get to disciplinarian and the kids just lose all respect for you I think.

Oh that reminds me, had a bit of a lightbulb moment. Now I hope you are sitting down as you read this as it will shock you. Here goes...

I think I might like to work with kids when I decided what I want to do.

Revelation hey? Well I've enjoyed so far and the kids have been great. Like being able to give them back at the end of the day though. The little kids on the slope are sooooo cute. Note: I am not getting broody. I can just appreciate a cute child!!

Trying to think of other stuff that has happened this week.... well I'm sure if it comes to me, I'll report at a later date!
But till then, my hour is almost up and this €5 an hour again business is killing me! No more free net :-( Cool beans well hope to hear some goss from home soon... xx




Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb