It's all Greek to me


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Lower Austria » Altlengbach
June 10th 2011
Published: June 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Please dont think I am lost. Yes I am in Greece but that is the only city it would let me choose on my phone.
My journey in Greece has been as followed:
Unbelievably and indescribably fantastic!
First night we stopped in Delphi and let me tell you something. I will live there one day. It is so amazing! It isn't packed with tourists; it's just a small homey village on the hill over looking a valley of cities and the ocean. One downside to it though is this mean little shop owner who totally ripped me off on a pair of poor craftsmanship sandals and I had to pay for a replacement. I wasn't rude but I made it clear that I wasn't willing to pay full price for another set of sandals...I have been asked not to come back to that store...but I did get another pair first. Oh and I also got to meet a gorgeous and very sweet local named Aundrea but that is another story.
Second night we spent in Athens. This was our Greek night and anyone who didn't come severely missed out! We had the best meal and the best entertainment! Also the best looking entertainer; I even got to pet his pom-pom...twice! And dance with him 😊 his name was Theodore.
Today is our third day in Greece and it was full of activities.
We got up and took a bus tour of Athens and then headed to the Acropolis. I was very sad my dad couldn't have been there with us cause I know how much he would have loved it. The temple of Athena aka the Parthenon was so impressive. It was huge! The only downside was that they were doing work in it and there were scaffoldings all over but it was gorgeous nonetheless. Next to it was the much more quaint temple of the Erechtheion. This was said to be the place where the two gods Athena and Poseidon battles over who could win the town. Athena produced an olive tree which can still be seen today and when Poseidon struck he trident to make a spring immerge he made a hole in the temple and sure enough there was a hole in the ceiling and the floor of the entrance.
After all of that we got the afternoon to shop Athens. I had the best gyro fir lunch during this time. The food here in Greece never gets old!
Now I have to pack and get ready fir the cruise tomorrow. I'm not sure if I will have much time to post but I will try to keep up!
Good night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb