Still in Tirana


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » West » Tirana
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After Lufthansa refused to allow me to change my ticket to Georgia, I have decided to spend the rest of my holiday in Tirana. Actually, it's very good because I am really enjoying having the time to spend here and re-connect with this place where I used to live.

The transformation of Tirana into a modern European capital is amazing. Today, I was walking near the lake and I was just taken by the beautiful of the lake, the pine trees, and these huge mountains to the east. It's really a beautiful and under-appreciated country.

South of the lake is a new neighborhood with many apartment buildings under construction and I feel that this would be a good investment. It's a quiet place without too much noise and pollution from the city, yet only a 3 minute drive to the Block neighborhood. The infrastructure is not yet there but in 10 years, this is certainly going to be a good place to live.

I'm working on the article with a great Albanian photographer, Blerta, whose pictures are coming out amazingly. It's so exciting and inspiring to see a local photographer excited about her country and putting a prideful face out onto the world. And it's inspiring to see young people pursuing life and the arts.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb