Finally the only tourist


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » North » Shkodër
July 25th 2005
Published: July 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

From the streets of ShkoderFrom the streets of ShkoderFrom the streets of Shkoder

It is sad things that are to be found on the streets. Mainly human garbage, but once in a while you cross more absurd things, like a donkey bone
I arrived rather early in the morning in Ulcinj, coming from Kotor. I had heard it should be easy to get a minivan to Shkoder from here. But the informations there were confusing. One person told me it left at one o'clock, another at 14.30, then one said 11 and finally someone told me four o'clock. As I was running around pretty swetty and tired, I believe I was noticed by more than one person, wherefore a guy in the end offered me a ride to Shkoder for 7 euros which I felt was rather cheap considering the long way.
I went with him in his very hot car and I was almost baking on the backseat. We talked some, but mainly I just staired out the window at the very beautifull nature that is to be found in that area. Mountains standing in the horizon and small village between green trees.

I must admit that I was a little frightened of what I was doing. Going in a car with a stranger, driving roads I could not at all be sure where led to. But as we crossed the border I became more relaxed, though also more sick from driving in the hot car, as my new acquintance continously offered me extremely long cigarettes and wrinkled his nose rather offended if I didn't take them. As we drove towards Shkoder, I felt myself all pale and yellow from the five cigarettes I had inhailed in the extreme heat of the car on that dusty road at the border. But before I knew it, he said: welcome to Shkoder and pointed at a sign.

He let me off at the Rozafa Hotel, where I gave him 10 euros, being so relieved that I had actually arrived. I went inside the hotel and found myself in a mayor hall in communist style, where several cleaning ladies were chit-chatting in a corner.

At the desk I got the choice between a room with bath or one without. The first one would be at the price of 17euros which I found pretty expensive, considering this outcast of a northern albanian city. Without shower it would cost me only 6,5euros, but after considering a bit, being able to smell myself rather badly I chose to pay extra for what showed out to be a terrible unclean shower, but at writting time I'm terribly happy about my decision and will now return to my room to take a long nice shower and wash some clothes.

(The phone net can't reach Albania, so mum I'm really okay. Don't worry! I sent GG a text)

Anna

Advertisement



28th May 2007

The answer is...
To solve the riddle on busses Ulcinj-Shkoder: 14.30 is correct.

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 27; qc: 107; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb