His By Grace -


Advertisement
Published: December 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Balcony ViewBalcony ViewBalcony View

Overlooking the village of Tunapuna, Trinidad.
Some Background:

In 1992, I moved to Trinidad, West Indies, from Scarborough, Maine. Trinidad is such a beautiful country that I would like to share some photos from time to time with my friends and relatives who are scattered abroad. And probably I will tag along with some thoughts as well.

Perhaps those in the colder climates will feel a little warmth on their faces when they look at the lush greenery and see the glimmering sunshine on the leaves of the trees. You can almost feel the heat in some of these pictures and, for some people, that would be just fine! Especially when it is sleeting, snowing, hailing, or raining during the long Winter months.

Here is a photo of a view overlooking the village of Tunapuna, Trinidad, taken from the balcony of the Tunapuna Missionary Baptist Church located high in the hills of the Northern Range, on Achong Trace, at the top of Balthazar Street. This assembly is where I meet with other believers to worship God for His goodness and His wonderful works to the children of men.

And that brings me to the subject of "some background"...The Lord, in His mercy, redeemed me way back about 40 years ago, and what a journey it has been since the day I realized I was not pure in heart, that some day I would have to face God because He is real. Wow. That was a shock!

I realized that awful fact when someone challenged me to read the Bible because, as they said, I was always criticizing but had never read it. I was given a Bible, which I put on the shelf until one day I went to give birth to my first child in the hospital and retrieved the Bible from under the dust and took it with me.

Not knowing where to begin, I started at the beginning of the New Testament, the book of the Gospel according to Matthew. I read until I came to Matthew 5:8 "Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God." And that was the actual start of God's dealings with my heart.

Until another time....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb