A Quiet Day in St. Maarten . . .


Advertisement
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This week’s teen tour was set for today in St. Maarten - The America’s Cup Regatta. I did this tour back in my first contract on the Legend and loved it. You’re put on racing boats, given a task to help sail the boat and then you race against others. So much fun. So I was very excited to go again this week.

I got up, got ready, went outside. The sun was shining. Perfect day for sailing. So I went and met my teens and we headed out to the pier. Except now it was overcast. We met the rest of the tour group, including the guide and waited a bit. Then the rain started. We got wet. We waited. Then the guide got a radio call from his office. The tour had to be cancelled because of storm warnings in the area. Still more remnants of Hurricane Hanna.

So I went back to bed for awhile. Got up, determined to still get off the ship. So I took a walk in the rain. And wandered the shops of Philipsburg for an hour or so.

Then I decided to treat myself to lunch. Generally I try to
The Walk to PhilipsburgThe Walk to PhilipsburgThe Walk to Philipsburg

So many people pay $5 to take a water taxi from the ship to Philipsburg. Meanwhile, I take the 10 minute walk along the palm-lined sidewalk.
not eat out in the ports, cause it only takes a meal or two to spend a whole day’s pay, so saving money doesn’t work too well then. And I had the best meal I have had in months. It was this lovely restaurant right on the beach. The window was open next to my table and a gorgeous breeze was blowing in off the ocean. I was the only one in the restaurant. It was quiet and calm and delicious.

And by the time I finished lunch, the sun had come out! By now, I only had an hour before I needed to be back on the ship, but I walked through the water along the beach as I headed back. While it wasn’t the great day at the beach I’d hoped for, it was still quite lovely.

Now it’s back to sea again for another 2 days. Hopefully next week’s weather will be better. We’re moving over to the Western side of the Caribbean. But still, there are more hurricanes forming and on their way over here . . . Still, I’m crossing my fingers for some delightful days next week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



18th September 2008

glad you got a little bit of sun at least! Today is overcast and drizzle in Bermuda as well. [sigh]. At least we're in other countries!

Tot: 0.545s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 28; qc: 156; dbt: 0.4138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb