Camera Drama and Play . . .


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last month a tragedy occurred. My camera stopped working. That’s right, the expensive investment I made in a digital camera only a year ago stopped working. The camera I take with me everywhere at home, let along when I travel, stopped working. The camera that has taken literally thousands of photos during the first half of my contract stopped working. In order to get it fixed, I had to express mail it back to Canada for repairs which will hopefully be covered by the warranty. Except even then, it will take months to get it back. Months in which I will be visiting a 10 different ports, having a ton of adventures, attending tons of parties and running hundreds of teen activities. For me, not having a camera is devastating.

I borrowed Brooks’ camera a lot over the last couple weeks. I’ve copied photos from other friends’ cameras. I’ve researched options. Finally, today in St. Maarten, with great financial anxiety, I bought another camera. I’m so stressed out about this purchase I’ve been dreaming about it at night! All I really want is my original camera to just not be broken.

However, this new camera is pretty bloody brilliant. It does everything my other camera did, plus more and it cost less (go figure). An incredible feature - it’s waterproof! Not only is it waterproof, but it has the option of taking photos underwater! I can’t wait to get on a snorkelling tour!

Kristina, Brooks and I promptly took this new purchase into the ocean to play. Such fun was had!

That was the big event of the day. Kristina shopped for souvenirs for her family (she’s leaving the end of this cruise) while I searched for camera options. Then Brooks joined us for a lovely lunch at a restaurant on the beach. Then we played in the water and sunned a bit. It was really wonderful. Relaxing, fun and provided me with some mental headspace from the ship.

Things are feeling pretty intense on the ship these days with so many people coming and going. Everyone’s emotions are running high and everyone is reacting to it in different ways. I’m feeling emotionally run down these days. But the ports always help. Thankfully we have two more port days ahead of us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Underwater Shot!Underwater Shot!
Underwater Shot!

Okay, it's not great. But the water was murky and I didn't have goggles to see what I was shooting. It's still cool!


25th March 2007

Sorry to hear about your camera but congrats on your new purchase! Funny how much we love cameras and need photos huh? I take TONS and if I ever lost mine (or had it stolen like some of the teachers here have had) I would go insane. Love photos. Glad to hear you can continue taking them. I owe you an e-mail. Figuring things out first. Soon.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb