One More Time . . .


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It is almost time to change our cruise run to the new ports and this week are our final stops in St. Kitts, St. Lucia and St. Maarten.

Yesterday we were in St. Kitts. I spent another day on the beach at the Marriott Hotel. Though this time, they wanted us to pay $125 US to go on the beach. The beaches are all public, so we’re allowed on the beach, but they wouldn’t let us walk through the hotel to get there. So we walked around the entire resort, then down along the beach. An hour or so later, we were told we couldn’t lie on the beach chairs either without paying the $125 day pass, so on the sand we moved. All this even though we were spending money on food and drinks! That aside, it was lovely. Spent the day with Cat, Marlize (my roomie), Brian (the new production singer), Darnell & Phil (gift shop guys), Natanya (bar waiter), Ben (fitness instructor) and Lauren (a new spa girl). Lots of sun, swimming in the gorgeous water and napping in the shade. The sun was so hot though, that it was painful to walk on the sand! Seriously.
MMMMMMMmangoes!MMMMMMMmangoes!MMMMMMMmangoes!

I just can't get enough!
It burned you! I think my feet will still be sore tomorrow. No exaggerating. It was a nice day. Easy. Relaxed.

Today, we’re in St. Lucia. Brooks, Cat & I went on the Carnival Destiny, another one of our ships that was in port with us. We wanted to check it out. We decided we like the Legend more - and probably people who live on other ships would decide they like theirs more too 😊

After the Destiny, we talked and shopped in the fruit and craft markets in Castries. I spent a lot of money, but got some great gifts and gorgeous souvenirs. I’m trying to keep in mind that I’ll be going home in less than 2 months and I want to bring back nice things for the people I’ve been missing. (You!)

The one thing I wanted to do on this run was get to the the two Pitons of St. Lucia, twin mountains, the main landmarks of the island. I didn’t ever get to them - tours weren’t given to me and the cab ride is really expensive and it’s a long drive. This afternoon, when I closed my club to go to dinner, I walked out into the hall and looked out the window to see St. Lucia in the distance as we sailed away. At the far end of the island, I could see the two Pitons! I just sat in the hall and watched them as we sailed away. I felt happy. I felt grateful. The perfect way to say goodbye to this gorgeous island.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Peek!Peek!
Peek!

So many little kids were hiding and napping and playing under their parent's craft stands. I loved it.
Baby NappingBaby Napping
Baby Napping

I thought this baby girl was the most precious thing. Possibly ever.
The DestinyThe Destiny
The Destiny

Brooks, Cat & I in front of the Carnival Destiny.
A Perfect Day in St. LuciaA Perfect Day in St. Lucia
A Perfect Day in St. Lucia

This was the view from the port side bar we sat at just before leaving St. Lucia. Gorgeous.
The Beach in St. KittsThe Beach in St. Kitts
The Beach in St. Kitts

I'm going to miss it here!
Monkeying AroundMonkeying Around
Monkeying Around

Every port we go to there seem to be monkeys wearing diapers for tourists to get photos with and then pay the person who brought the monkey. I think it's wierd. But these kids were cute.
Last Day on the Beach (in St. Kitts anyway)Last Day on the Beach (in St. Kitts anyway)
Last Day on the Beach (in St. Kitts anyway)

Me, Lauren, Darnell, Cat, Marlize & Natanya


9th April 2007

Your mangoes are green! Are they ripe? We know ours are readu when all the green is gone and they are more of a red/orange/yellow colour. Maybe they are different in different countries. Ours should be falling off the trees in our backyards any day now ;P Glad you had fun on your port trip :)
9th April 2007

Yeah, they are ripe. I've always known that the sign of a good mango are them being the oragne/red colour. But then the last time in St. Lucia with the fruit man on the boat, he had green ones and I asked him if they're ripe and he said yes and it's true, they are. They don't grow very big in St. Lucia either. Maybe it's a bit like apples, that there are different types of them? Whatever, they're delightful!

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb