Going into the Third Show


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello. Well this is the first time I've been able to sit down with my lap top since we started working Tuesday! THings are in full swing here. We loaded in, rigged and have already had two shows. Our third show is in a few hours. Tuesday and Wednesday were very long days. We started Tues at 2:30 unloaded the 10 semi trucks and it took a good four hours to get everything in the venue. Part of my job, as I was getting trained on, is to direct the local help where to put all the crates coming off the truck. It was interesting! The venue wouldn't let us start rigging until 5:00. So we had to wait, which isn't fun. But we started and it was fast and furious. We left the venue Tues night at midnight! By then we had completely unloaded and almost finished rigging. Props, my department, had finished almost everything, but we had to come in Wed at 8:00 am. SO with about 5 hours of sleep we all went in Wed finished rigging and begin setting up for the first tech run, which was good and then we had the first show last night at 8pm. I was glad to get back tot he hotel before midnight, catch a few more zzzz's before getting up early today for a 10:30 show.

The job is pretty cool. A lot of the same stuff I've been doing for years, for free! I am just getting paid for it now!
Well, I'd love to say more, but I have to get going. Got a 5:30 lobby call for tonight's show. Love you guys.





Advertisement



30th October 2008

hey man. sounds like fun. happy you got the position. love ya man. see you in a few weeks.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb