Panama City... Still


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Panama City for 3 nights now, seeing sights and trying to arrange my departure (which I finally accomplished). I've been staying in the Voyager Hostel, meeting many many people. I'd actually reccommend the Mamallena Hostel over this place, but it's been fun here. Just last night I got to know people from Argentina, England, Ireland, Norway, Germany, Paraguay, Canada, and the US. I saw the Panama Canal, which looks way too small to afford the huge ships that pass through it. I thought I saw huge ships in Alaska, but it turns out they were nothing compared to what I've seen here. This city, like all major cities in the region, is loud and crazy, but it's actually kind of a nice place. The old colonial section of the city is by far the nicest and most interesting area, with tiny cobblestone streets and strange little cafes and artisans. I finally got caught in a torrential rain yesterday. All of the streets were literally rivers- rivers that carried my flip flops away. It was actually really fun, though. And since it was raining, we went to blockbuster, Rented Sideways, and all drank a little wine haha.
BUT, on the the future plans (extremely exciting)- I leave early tomorrow morning with an American girl to say with a family of the Kuna tribe on the remote San Blas islands for two nights. After that, it's five days of sailing, stopping at various islands, and finally arriving in..... in.... Colombia! haha yes sailing to Colombia with the American girl, an Irish girl, and two Irish guys from the hostel. I might go down to Ecuador before coming back up. Or mabye not. That's how I like it 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb