First Week of School


Advertisement
Panama's flag
Central America Caribbean » Panama » Panamá » Panama City
September 14th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is our 12th day in Panama. Yesterday was the end of our first week of school.

This week we walked at least 22 miles, since we walk to and from school four days each week, we walk to the grocery store, to the movies and everywhere else.

If you are one of my students and you are reading this, know that my admiration of your courage in meeting the challenges of a new culture has grown. My Spanish vocabulary is hundreds of words now, but when I need just one of those words to order a meal, answer a question or ask for directions my head becomes empty. After one week I can recognise a word or two on TV, or in an overheard conversation. Mi esposo (Doug) is doing much better than I am.

We are here in the rainy season, but so far we have not had to use our umbrellas. It has either rained while we were in class or just after we arrived home. Today we went by car to Coronado on the Pacific coast, but we didn't need our umbrellas because we were in the car. So, my magic umbrella STILL WORKS!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb