panama city


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

panama citypanama citypanama city

home of prison break!
Panama City

It wasn't much of an experience. Well actually, it depends on which way you look at it. I guess it was a very memorable experience, yes indeed it was. One that I won't forget any time soon and I guess it therefore makes my Panamanian experience all the more memorable.
I was rather sick during my 4 day stay in the city of Panama. I had food poisoning, I'm guessing from a very suspect kebab I so keenly devoured on my last night in Bocas. Unfortunate really, because for the 5 nights prior to this very unfortunate evening I had indulged in at least 3 kebabs a night (now, now, don't judge!) So on the morning following the night that I so keenly devoured the very suspect kebab it was so unbelievably unfair that I suffered food poisoning. You see I was on a 10 hour journey to Panama. I don't think I need to go into details but you could imagine my distress; food poisoning and buses just don't mix. Luckily though I had with me the miracle or almost miracle pill, travel lan, which kept things at bay for a few hours at least.
So I arrived in Panama feeling fairly sorry for myself, little did I know this was only going to get worse. I spent all day Thursday in bed, three quarters of the the day Friday in a similar position before perking up on Saturday and venturing out to one of the very big, very western malls. It actually made me feel better for a while, seeing familiar shops and cheap clothing. Although it didn't last. I was back at the hostel, which was fantastic mind you, before too long.
Now that I've brought up the hostel I'd best mention its name; Luna's Castle Hostel. It's in a super safe, very nice part of the city called San Felipe and after staying here I wouldn't stay in any other area. This part of town is attempting to restore all of the historical buildings to their former glory. There are cute little boutiques if you look hard enough, cheap eats, cheap buys down Avienda Central and well the hostel is about 3 houses away from the President's house, so there are police everywhere which means you're pretty safe. There is a red zone about 4 blocks away, but we're almost all smart enough to know not to go there aren't we mick?!
Saturday, as I said I was feeling much better so I ventured to the Canal to have a peak, I mean I couldn't go to Panama without laying eyes on the canal could I?!
It was pretty impressive, for a man made big concrete contraption with lots of water and huge vessels. There were hundreds of tourists and rightly so. The best thing about the Canal is it is now 100% Panamanian owned and good on them, lets hope they can continue to see business boom for they are now building a 3rd lock which is costing them god knows how much money!
Sunday it was time to catch the bus out to Portabello to await the trip most of you would have already read about, the sailing trip to Cartagena. After feeling better I decided to eat something Saturday night, big mistake. Sunday I wound up in a very similar position to that of the previous 4. The best thing about this food poisoning episode being followed by the boat trip was that I could participate in a little detox. No alcohol for 11 days! Champion!
Now before I go can I just say to everyone including my dear mother, that Panama is a beautiful country and for me I found it very safe. Of course there is danger everywhere. However if you have your wits about you and you don't go wandering down alley ways after dark and don't carry hundreds of dollars with you, you should be fine. I'm not saying robbings don't happen here, but I'm just you know that Panama is a beautiful place with wonderful people. If you get the chance, you should visit, I know there are many more places within the country I would love to explore.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

huge!!huge!!
huge!!

it was quite amazing to see the boats move through the locks....might remember this one for the children


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb