General life


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hey! So here i will just write about daily life 😊




07/06/2017



I´m here since almost a week now. And I can say: I really like it here. Yes, it is very warm, yes, it is very humid. But it doesn´t seem to bother me, so I´m fine ? Whenever I leave the house, the estimated walk time at least doubles, because I see so many things. Let that be strange “foam blobs” in puddles (apparently tungara frog nests), female dragonflies laying their eggs in water (looks really funny), or red-lored amazons (parrots) at dusk and dawn which keep you from sleeping or wake you up, respectively.
Yesterday, I went to STRI Headquarters (Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute) for a really nice talk about Tungara frogs. I met some very interesting people.
Today, we had a special guest in our house: a flying furball named “bat” found its way in – but not out again. So, we opened all the windows to let it out – and paid dearly with mosquitos in the house… anyway, the bat is safe, the mosquitos got their human body fluids, everyone was happy.



06/06/2017



Visiting an artificial pond in the night with my two flatmates. Although they put the water away (apparently for cleaning reasons), I saw some cute little red-eyed tree frogs and a astonishing tree-snake (it was quite small, but still amazing). After a long way home by foot, I realised, that it´s quite tedious to be in dense vegetation in this climate…


05/06/2017



Starting with an easy morning with a great book a great friend lent me 😊
In the evening I was at the bat-night in front of the STRI (Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute) in Gamboa. I heard an interesting talk about bats in general. Many “none-science” people came as well, which made me happy. It´s always nice to teach “common folk” that bats aren´t something you need to be afraid of – and they are NOT BLIND (seriously guys, they see quite well).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb