Accross Panama in 2 days


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Panama in 2 days

David-Santiago-Panama-San Blas, Kuna Yala-Panama Canal-El Valle de Anton-Santiago-David

After meeting so many people at the hostel, one of the guys who stayed with us asked if I would be interested in going to San Blas for Easter. That was a tough decision… heck yes, I would. His four-wheel drive truck was perfect for a rocky mountain road to get to Carti from where we would take a boat to one of the 365 islands of Kuna people.

On Thursday night I took a late bus from David to Santiago. (I just learned that there are 5 Santiagos in the world). In the morning we were supposed to pick up another friend from a gas station on the way to Panama City. Somehow, the other friend had a problem with a bus, we had a problem waking up, and since only one person from the group had a phone, we missed each other. That left me with my Indian friend and his huge truck. From here on, let me call my friend Mr. India to avoid any conflict between him and his jealous wife who lives overseas.

Mr. India and I headed to Panama City. He was driving like a real Delhi taxi driver. 100km/h in a 80km/h zone. The police had to act and we got stopped.

-Documentos por favor. You were going too fast. – A middle aged policeman in a dark-green uniform stared at both of.

-Por favor senor. I never come this way. I didn’t realize. Can we arrange it? – Started to beg Mr. India.

- Pasaporte por favor.

Mr. India handed the Passport and exited the car. A few minutes later he got back and asked if I had $5. Then he found $5 in his wallet, put it inside the passport, went outside again, and seconds later got back with a happy face and in an Indian accent said:

-Lets go my friend.

While a police officer was secretly rolling $5 bill, we drove away. It was pouring cats and dogs. “Good thing our friend didn’t make,” I thought. “We are going to be like to frogs in a tent chewing chips and sipping Balboa.”

When we reached Panama City, I was astonished. I heard it was pretty metropolitan but I did not expect to drive through a little Miami. It was impressive! Bridges, skyscrapers, waterfront, any banks you can think off and any cars you can dream off.

Another 100 km of rollercoaster road led us to a Kuna Yala border where we had to show our passports and pay $17 to enter.

-Does it rain there? – I asked the guy at the border.

- There - he pointed towards the islands - no.

The Kuna Yala is managed by different government and when we got to the port, it seemed like a completely different world. People were walking barefoot, women were wearing colorful skirts and bracelets, men were fishing and driving boats. The whole island was full of tents and cabanas. For $30 per person we got three very delicious fishy meals and a spot for a tent.

When we got settled, a day and a half went by the way it could go by on an island. S-L-O-W-L-Y. We ate, played geography games, took pictures, drunk beer, swam, and played with a little blue fish who was elegantly posing in front of my waterproof camera.

Good thing we brought our alcohol with us. Because of the Saint Week, it was impossible to buy alcohol. But even if it were possible, I can only guess how much it would cost. A tiny bottle of water cost us $2. Panama is an amazing country: a bottle of water is $0.60 and a can of beer is $0.49. No wonder we have been drinking here every day. Before leaving, we even exchanged a 6 pack Guinness for two coco waters. Who is talking about a free trade in Panama? We really had to bargain to get anything. Everything was $1. Be it a picture with a local or a piece of bread.

On the way back to Santiago, I couldn’t resist to stop at the Panama Canal, Miraflores. It was fun, I am glad I did it but I don’t think I am going there again. It was just a check point on something I did.

Since a little town of El Valle Anton was on the way, we stopped there too. It’s famous for its village that is located in a pure crater of an inactive volcano. It was one of those cute little towns in the mountain.

When we finally reached Santiago, the clock showed 10pm. We were very very hungry. Chinese restaurant it was! A huge plate of Chop Suey filled me up and gave me lots of energy for a few hours of reggaeton.

Dancing till 3 am followed by an alarm ringtone at 6am. There we were driving back to David. And that’s how it was done: Almost across Panama in almost 2 days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Kuna YalaKuna Yala
Kuna Yala

Then the road was a rollercoaster for 45 minutes. On the way down people have to step of the road to "feed the birds"
Kuna YalaKuna Yala
Kuna Yala

The border. $5 per person and $7 per car
It's a dolla, a dolla to take a photoIt's a dolla, a dolla to take a photo
It's a dolla, a dolla to take a photo

I had to hag her quicly so she doesn't charge me


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb