Correcting Problems


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Still living with no basics. Haven't had a shower in 11(?) days. Haven't had a hot shower in almost 2 months. Days we aren't correcting shoddy workmanship, I come over to Bocas and internet.
I will go with a different carpenter for the rest of the job. Mine has not been truthful with me, and that is worse than making mistakes on the house. The house won't be perfect, but it has charisma and one hellava view, baby! I need more money, but my card won't work in the ATM, and the local bank won't do any transactions for me. It may be another trip to Changuinola. They have an HSBC Bank.

I accidentally grabbed a tree that had quills all over the trunk. Most were easily removed except one. It looked like just a speck, and despite all of my picking, I could not remove it. After a couple of days, it was getting swollen and white - so I squeezed it. To my shock, a half inch splinter lifted straight up out of my finger and fell over. The human body is amazing.

Three days this week were big holidays in Panama, so everything closed down for parades and revelry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

splintersplinter
splinter

it was straight down in, got infected, I squeezed and it lifted out and laid over like toothpaste
Cedeno and FamilyCedeno and Family
Cedeno and Family

This is one of the guys that carried every piece of my house up through the jungle


7th November 2009

Splinters!
Looks just like what I was still picking out of my foot weeks after we got back from Panama, though I had stepped on some quill like thing as we were approaching Salt Creek. Mine didn't get infected like that.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb