Getting Started


Advertisement
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Found my builder, Wanchow. He has built many houses on this island and the other islands. He works hard, and is quite fast, according to my sources. When the TV show “Survivor” filmed a season on these islands several years ago, Wanchow was the guy who built the houses for the crew. The money is starting to flow now - various permits and plans will run over $1000, and material for foundation, including human labor to haul it up the ridge, will be another $1000. If Wanchow is as fast as he appears, I will be broke in 3 weeks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

hostel bastimentoshostel bastimentos
hostel bastimentos

I stayed here 2 years ago for $8 per night, shared bathroom. Now, it's $16. Ridiculous! I'm on a budget. I'm buying a tent.
my new homemy new home
my new home

only $10 at this sweat box
owner and motherowner and mother
owner and mother

they are camera shy
almost rentedalmost rented
almost rented

this house was 300/mo, but Wanchow says my roof will be up in 2 weeks. Once I have a roof, I'm staying in my house - floors and walls are optional.
neighborneighbor
neighbor

my house will be very similar, but without the addition to the deck in front


4th October 2009

Exciting!
It is starting to seem more real now, isn't it? If you rent this house out, how many people will it sleep? I am surprised the plans and permits cost as much as they do.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb