About time.....


Advertisement
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hostel HeikeHostel HeikeHostel Heike

This is the sign for our Hostel...
I hear a crackle and little yelps coming from the street outside of Hostel Heike, as I come out the front gates and into the sunlit street, I see crowds gathering across the street. I come upon a man in the street dressed completely in black and red, with a huge mask atop his head. The mask is adorned with bright red fabric and huge white tusks protruding from his face. He has feathers and bells attached to his feet and I can hear the bells as he stomps his feet through the street cracking his whip.
Out of nowhere come two others, ‘El Diablos’. Cracking their whips and taunting the people in the streets….
Kids screaming, running and playing with the Devils; apparently Panamanian tradition. If you are outside the white lines on the street they can not whip you, only intimidate and taunt you. But, if you step inside to challenge them and you are holding a stick they pull back and crack as hard as I can imagine is possible.
I ventured down the street to see things closer up and found myself hiding behind a rasta friend while a Diablo is breathing down my neck, whipping
Back in PanamaBack in PanamaBack in Panama

This is the beginning stages of Laura and I painting the hostel Heike
the backs of my legs, ever so gently and enough to make my heart start to race. He starts to stare me down and I recognize his eyes, behind his disguise. It is an old friend, and he is waiting to get me.
I sat with my friend Jen, biting my nails and trying to calm my heartbeat.
All of this makes sense when we realize that Carnival is fast approaching.

This new excitement made me think that it was about time I started a blog so that those of you that are not into emailing can keep up with me and my adventures.

I am still living and working in Bocas Del Toro, Panama. Loving every minute I spend here. Recently I have been more and more motivated and inspired to start painting, singing, and reading again. I have almost completely finished my first real painting since I have been here. Dan from Mondo has been inspiring me to sing again. We download songs both of us want to learn together and sing before we open the bar. It feels amazing to be in a place where I have the time to do these things on
First Night BackFirst Night BackFirst Night Back

This is Laura Dan and I at Modno Taitu, my first night back.
a daily basis. Laura is in Colombia for 5 days, doing her visa run.(For those of you that don’t know, her and I run Heike together). One of my bestest friends from home just left two days ago after spending a month with us here, I miss her already!!! And my friend Ashley is coming next week, can’t hardly wait.
I am feeling grounded lately, happy with where I am and what I am doing. The past 3 months here in Bocas have been filled with so many amazing people, fantastic parties, special holidays; I am feeling lucky that I have the opportunity to be here. I did not imagine that I would gain so much being here, from the lifelong friendships, concrete memories, and being the most spiritually grounded I have been in a long time.
I miss and love all of you and I hope some of you are planning trips my way.
Kat



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Mondo BarMondo Bar
Mondo Bar

Smee, Fabio, Laura, Dan and I behind the bar at Mondo.
MuralsMurals
Murals

Laura and I were keeping oursleves busy with projects around the hostel for the first month and a half.
Empresa LauEmpresa Lau
Empresa Lau

We made this sign for our dear friend Lau.
Red FrogRed Frog
Red Frog

We made it to the beach with some of our first friends we made at Heike
Panama DayPanama Day
Panama Day

'The lost boys' that own Mondo Taitu and Heike....and Guillermo and Mike, being partiotic on Panama Day
Barco LocoBarco Loco
Barco Loco

On the Barco Loco with the girls...
XLXL
XL

Aaron XL and I guzzlin'some water after the bar one night...
XL and...XLXL and...XL
XL and...XL

Aaron XL and Megan XL....takin' it easy in our room
Cap itCap it
Cap it

Nil and I bonded over my large collection of hats...
The DuoThe Duo
The Duo

Laura and I in love.....
The Duo #2The Duo #2
The Duo #2

Mike and Brian were those guests' that you could just never get rid of....hehe After two months of hangin' out Brian now lives here and is part of our big Mondo Family
Sake Bomb!!Sake Bomb!!
Sake Bomb!!

One of the classic parties at the Mondo
Sake BombsSake Bombs
Sake Bombs

Jen and Rimas....(on a side note Rimas, you will see more of him, he ended up spending the holidays with us; Jen is now living with Laura and I)
TzakTzak
Tzak

Laura and Tzak, another repeat at Heike, he came back aswell....
The beginning of the end....The beginning of the end....
The beginning of the end....

Well, this picture was the beginning of the most insane month we have had here at Heike...I think this is a good place to stop until I can fester up the energy to write a blog about these guys.....


5th February 2007

Thats lovely, funy, inspirating, magic, and my english stops me there... Looking good Kathy, hope you change just what you want. Besos y exitos DA
5th February 2007

So happy
HEy Kat, I am glad you started a blog! They are such great ways to stay in touch! I miss you and I feel a sense of being grounded by just reading your blog! You are such a talented person! Love you! Cailin
5th February 2007

Hey Girl!!!
Hey Kat, I am so happy that you have found yourself and doing what you love cause you've been looking for your dream for a while and you are doing what you love and you are very a very brave girl. Kayla and I miss you and I hope to see you soon and we will keep in touch. Je t'appellerais bientot, j'ai garder ton numero de telephone. A Bientot Kat. Je t'aime, Tania xox
10th February 2007

first visit...
hey love, this is my first visit and lovely to see your photos again and read what you're up to regularly! I'm producing a show at the school that is opening this coming weekend so it will be a busy week coming up. I heard that mom bought her ticket, she sounds pretty excited.... I wish i could have come down too but we didn't have the same time off for spring break. I miss you... I love your new tat... you're cool love you
19th February 2007

kat me dear!!
hey you!! its so good to hear your stories and see your face!! i miss you and cant wait to make it down to see you, i miss you!! have fun girlie!! love ya ps its like minus 30 in calgary!! boooo

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb