Nicaraguay... a central american haven...


Advertisement
Nicaragua's flag
Central America Caribbean » Nicaragua
December 4th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me...Me...Me...

smashed by the water falls! - somehow not quite as fun as it looks (lol)
Hola!

Arriving in Nicaragua was exactly what we needed. The first little town we aimed for was famous for the waterfalls, and for good reason! There were cascading falls hidden on some cliffs along a short hike. It was also the local shower, and even had tunnels that actually attached one waterfall to the next. Of course, I immediately went in the tunnel and followed the dark damp path, until I hit rock - no light, no air, the tunnel dropped well below the waterline, and I groped with the far stretch of my hand to find that there was in fact air on the other side, before plunging down and surfacing on the other side. Unfortunately, the water was so high that the air onthe other side allowed me to breath (barely) but only if my lips were pressed to the top of the tunnel, and in order to see ahead, I had to suck in my breath and tilt my head, allowing and eye or two to glimpse that there was light ahead. At this point, John having not followed me and the current forcefully shoving me towards the light, I retracted... I fought the current and found
Me in the tunnelMe in the tunnelMe in the tunnel

... these tunnels led from one waterfall to the next... amazing, but really scary - we often had to hold our breath and duck when the tunnel went below water level...
my way to the beginning of the tunnel. There, still filled with adrenaline and energy, John and I hiked to the next waterfall, where I promptly found the exiting tunnel and began working my way backwards... against the current. It was a struggle, but knowing the first half of the tunnel and what to expect if I could get the the point where the tunnel ceiling dropped, I arched my head up, slowly breathing the damp and limited air, and managed to do the tunnel in reverse - surprising the locals in the initial waterfall and running back with pride and pure energy to tell John of my success.

We soon made out way to the beach - hunting down a nice lobster meal, and watching the sun set over the clam waves and lounging in hammocks well into the evening. The beaches were perfect. They were long and rather empty, filled with rocks on either end to explore and more than a few kilometers to walk along, visiting lighthouses or jetties along the way. Sadly, like always, the beach began to wear on me. I love the beach, donĀ“t get me wrong, but after exploring thelength of it, climbing all the climbable points, and generally relaxing it up... I start getting itchy feet! So, we were off again, this time to Granada.

Granada is a lovely little colonial town where we found ourselves back among markets and street vendors, colonial architecture with brilliant colours, and some local churches and towers to climb. But, soon enough we were opting for a bit more adventure in a more remote location, so we headed off to Ometepe, two volcanoes forming an outdoor paradise island filled with wildlife, hiking, camping, and much more!!!

Trish xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Me...Me...
Me...

being slammed by a wave!!!
Me...Me...
Me...

almost had by the wave...
Me...Me...
Me...

sucess! The pose I was aiming for...
My new best friend...My new best friend...
My new best friend...

there are so many dogs around... and they are so hard to resist!
Our hotel...Our hotel...
Our hotel...

nice & secure feeling...
a local farm...a local farm...
a local farm...

ever seen cows chilin in a lake with an armed security guard watching over them?!
I found a bell!I found a bell!
I found a bell!

actually they rang it while we were up there and my ear drums were not so keen!
the locals get some rest...the locals get some rest...
the locals get some rest...

by hanging up their hammoks under their trucks - brilliant!
Crazy colourful houses...Crazy colourful houses...
Crazy colourful houses...

I love them... but am not entirely convinced I could reside in one permenantly - would you want to see that every day?!


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb