February: Lent, My Birthday, Valentines Day, and the start of classes


Advertisement
Nicaragua's flag
Central America Caribbean » Nicaragua
February 18th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First Day!First Day!First Day!

The kids line up by section on the first day of classes. Looking really professional, most are antsy to start the year.
Hola todos. Sorry it has been long since I have written. There has been much to tell! It is often hard to keep up with the busy pace of life here!

Since I last wrote, classes started. What a fun and challenging time. I first have to say that my time as English teacher has been confusing and extremely difficult. I often have no direction and do not know what goes on all the time. However, poco a poco and with time, I learn. Patience is key.

Being a Catholic organization, we had mass the first day of school. Since I still do now know what goes on during mass, I am hoping that when I have time, I will take on another project to make bulletins for the volunteers and pequenos, in Spanish and English. This will be something that will stay within the organization for a long time. My favorite part was seeing the altar boys and the choir, all volunteer pequenos, up front. How great that they sacrifice their free time to help with life and work of the church. When I get my flute, I hope to do the same and help out with the
AntonioAntonioAntonio

Our new little pequeno, welcome to NPH, su hogar nuevo!
musical liturgy. Often, going to mass is the highlight of my week, although I do not identify with it, being Catholic and in Spanish. However, I am learning to appreciate it, as I am still worshipping God. I think I feel like the people in Babylonia when God gave them different speeches...confusing. However, God is at work, and especially in the beautiful chapel. I am constantly reminded of His presence, which is the ONLY fuel for my trip and my underlying purpose here.

Back to school, things are in full swing, literally. I feel tossed around a lot. During recess at school, the kids often run around, since they have no toys, just a shabby swing set. Even during classes, the kids run around. When I retrieved my students, often times the teachers were missing. How strange. The whole school system here at NPH and I am assuming at some schools in Nica is very different than in the states. First off, the school is open air, with screen less windows surrounding the perimeter. This means that elements like wind and rain can get in. Annoying kids and noise can also filter in. I need to get some curtains for my class. The plates above the doors of each classroom are not accurate either. When I see third grade posted, second grade could be inside. I need an accurate nameplate for my classroom, as do all other classes. I retrieve some of my kids, and I am still clueless as to where their correct classroom is!

The kids really tested my limits the first week. They had to. That's what you do when you are a kid. I let them test, but I also let them know where I stood. When kids acted up, I often got frustrated. However, I have to keep in mind that these kids come from rough backgrounds, often equivalent to the street kids in the states, who need constant attention. Their behavior is also different, given the nature of their culture. Their standards are not as high as the standards of some schools in the states. Theses are all generalities, but things here are very different. I tried to keep that in mind. However, with my great point and reward system, acting good or bad will become a choice and I feel that it will work. Giving these kids a chance to succeed
San Juan del SurSan Juan del SurSan Juan del Sur

Out celebrating with my girls for my 23rd, pura Nica style!
and making English FUN for them, I hope they will all succeed in my class. However, patience is key. I learned that big time my first week.

The second week of classes was one of pure exhaustion and also a complete change in my schedule. After receiving 5 hours of sleep every night from planning lessons, I often did not have energy for school. My mornings start at 5am as I leave for school by 6:30am. I need a leisurely morning, as I do not like to rush my hearty breakfast. Starting at 7am, I teach 6 solid blocks of class, often rushing to clean up from the last class before the next group comes in. I literally have no time to sit down and plan or write notes from the previous class. I have recess, which is a break from heaven. It is also snack time for everyone. Then, I write all my notes and clean up. It is a long 5 hours at school. I need to plan for a week at a time, as I have no time once school starts at 7am to think of stuff. I have to have my game plan solid at
San Juan BaySan Juan BaySan Juan Bay

The view from the fishery is not that bad!
least the night before. All my units are at two-week intervals. They have quizzes at the end of each unit. After cumulative units, perhaps 3, there is a test. Planning a curriculum for a year for all of primary and some of secondary school is a lot of work and is very challenging. However, it is invaluable experience that I am loving.
This was a job for two teachers, but since the director was under the false impression that there were two of us and found out I was the only one, I had more work. On top of this, secondary school will move to the primary school. They need a teacher for those students. I cannot be everything to everyone and I had to say no. NPH will be hiring another teacher.
I have help from Sana in my classes and help from Beth in planning stuff. I run my questions by her. We all learn better with others anyways...two heads are better than one! I am grateful for the help but know that in the end, I have the ultimate responsibility. I am grateful for the challenge. With great power also comes great responsibility...what is that line from
A Beautiful SunsetA Beautiful SunsetA Beautiful Sunset

Just a daily event for the locals, I watched the sunset from the perfect viewing location of the bay, admiring this wonder of nature.
Spider Man?

This week, the kids decided they were going to test my limits in regards to stealing markers and utensils. I had them all make nametags and Nicaraguan flags to decorate my room. After not getting all my supplies back, I would become frustrated. Since my energy is failing, my tolerance level is shorter...which could be problematic. One time, I almost lost it when the kids lied about not returning the markers and supplies. I tried to track them down by talking to each section after school and talking to specific kids. I was pointed in all sorts of directions, none of which led me to the markers. After a short speech the next day in class about how we need the supplies to learn together, I got some of them back. However, as much as the kids test you, I learned that sleep and patience are both needed. I no longer lend anything out. It is a new rule. The kids bring everything to class and if they don't have, they share.

It is often hard being a teacher by day and a tia or aunt by afternoon and evening. The same kids who disrespected me during school I was expected to love during the day. It is hard to have a dual relationship with the kids. Even in week three of lessons, the kids test me and I stay away from them during the afternoon for a few hours of me time. One time, I purposefully ate with a different house to stay away from one group of girls...that’s how irritated I get. Here at NPH, you have to have a healthy way to let out your frustration and anger or it will eat you.
However, on another note, I can say that meal times are really fun, as I am the cool English teacher. They all want to sit by "teacher " and to learn English. I test them on their foods. Numerous kids have been coming up to me asking for private lessons. I currently have 4 students I do this with. However, they are the students who really want to learn and so I am grateful to give of my limited free time. There are also students from the secondary school who have English class with native Nicaraguans. They claim that they do not learn proper English with them and I cannot blame them. In fact, I feel bad. So, on top of my private tutoring sessions, I often get questions from random older students about how to do this or say that...I am really grateful for my usefulness here in English. For the future, more NPH Nica volunteers need to have teaching experience in English. It is a huge need here and many kids want to learn.

One of the things I do not want to teach is how to say bad words...many kids ask me what this or that means, and I know that they know. They just want to hear me say it...Clever kids...However, it is quite interesting to note that with the pronunciation issues, when kids say beach, it sounds like the other bad word that starts with "B". You know which word I am talking about?

So, my descansio, break, finally arrived! It had already been 10 days since the first descansio, and it went by so quick! I would be going to San Juan del Sur with Sana and Elizabeth, two other volunteers. I took the free transport to catch the 6am ferry, and the others hitchhiked to the 9am ferry. So, I arrived in San Jorge three hours early! Stepping outside from the ferry, alone, I was bombarded by many people, especially since I was alone. I was a target. I remember a man shoving his newly caught turtle in my face...only 100 Cordoba he said...no thank you! After making it safely to the taxi area, I decided I would read...I went on the deserted beach, and while trying to wake up and read, a dog came up to me. Why did he have to do that??? He became my friend...I know what he wanted...my food. The poor thing was falling apart; as you could see him limp and his ribs were sticking out...it was a sad site. You know that look of a kid who smiles at you, asking: Give me candy, pretty please? Well, this dog's face read that all the way. I decided to walk away. I cannot be expected to feed everyone, especially stray dogs. Plus, I had not received my rabies shots...it could have been dangerous. So, tired of this beach, I sat in a visitor’s center. It was there that I met Karla, the worker. I found out that she works in San Jorge and in Moyogalpa on the island. She was also telling me of three Peach Corps members on the island, one of who is her English teacher, Patrick. I was excited to hear of other Americans on the island here for long term, as they are hard to come by! I told her I would love to meet them sometime! Karla and I passed the time. It just started when I needed to use her facilities...but now I have a new friend. While this was happening, I couldn't help but notice that outside, poor monkeys chained to the tree were tapping on the window of this center...it was a terrible site. These poor monkeys are chained, held captive, and have a shabby plastic cubby to sleep in. I saw that a taxi driver fed them, probably daily, as the taxi drivers hang around here. They are the keepers of these poor dirty monkeys, letting them sit on their shoulders. Eew...While I waited, I decided I would make friends with the taxi drivers. It would be good to secure a fixed price for my friends to Rivas when they arrived from the ferry anyways. It was in the swarm of men that I met Henry, a rather nice taxi driver. We talked about the perceptions of Americans or other tourists of screaming and annoying tax drivers. I was happy to hear Henry's perception too, as he said he does this to help people out. The faster he finds out where they need to go, the faster business can be rolling. I understood. So, after telling Henry of the price I knew was fair for my friends to go to Rivas, my friends arrived and he took us.

The bus to San Juan del Sur was crazy as usual...but amidst the annoying live infomercials that got on the bus every stop, shoving food in our faces, us girls had our fun girly talk. I think we talked about every living subject possible with girls. It was nice to do that. I cannot do that elsewhere. We also sat in front of two Americans, who happened to be living on the island long term like us! What a small world!
One thing to watch out for in San Juan...and don't ask me why they do this...the gopher men charge you an extra 5 Cordoba for every large backpack. Now, as I weigh hardly anything, I am sure my light backpack and me combined weighed less than the rather hearty man sitting next to me. They sure didn't charge him anything more! I had my backpack on the ground, hidden from sight anyways. I was sad when they got more money out of our American friends behind me who had around 4 large suitcases. I hope they are fair to everyone and just don't target hopeless travelers who don't know any better.

San Juan del Sur, here comes Michelle. It has been over a year since I had been there. Now, San Juan is a shabby drinking beach town. You don't come here to be basked in the history or cultural ambiance. It is beach and rum and coke town, specifically Flor de Cana. We walked and walked around for a hostel, not finding anything less than $6...prices have risen since a few weeks ago in this town! Not finding anything, we just sat down to eat. Being Nicaragua, we run into one of Sana's surfer friends. Sana has been here before and has met some pretty hard-core surfers. Dan was from Holland and devotes his life to surfing and being a life learner as he puts it. No career, no wife, no kids...he simply surfs and travels. He showed us a cheap hostel for $5. Good thing we ran into him. Sixty Cordoba in saving in lodging meant an extra meal.

La Soya became our new home for the weekend. Now, upon checking on the more touristy hostels, like Casa de Oro, we found La Soya to be friendlier. At Casa de Oro, we were treated like kids, being preached to about how it is not the hostels responsibility for losing valuables...and how they have to control a lot. At La Soya, a hospedaje run by a local Nica family, we were given the sign in book in our room, to sign it at our leisure. And, we were trusted. No speech.... we already knew. It was nice. So laid back...Now, this hostel was shabby and not visually pleasing, but it was good. When we needed a spoon, we were lent one. When we left, we passed by the family's kitchen, home to the key room too. We became an extended part of their family pretty much. Those American boys also stayed with us. Good to have friends. As three women, we were assigned a three-person dorm. It was nice, as we didn't have to share it with others. That is the beauty of traveling in a group...and we had a private bathroom. So, it was pretty much like a small hotel room. The same thing happened in Leon when all 9 of our group shard a large dormitory. We could relax and not worry about the others in our room.

Sana was nice to introduce us to her friend, Douglas, from Costa Rica, also a loner surfer man who devotes his life to "other things." He was also staying at La Soya...The first day, we hung out at the bay of San Juan, a lifeless (wave wise) yet pretty bay. The shade less beach was home to many tourists and men selling things. I tried to befriend one of the pottery men, knowing how hard his life is. I was telling the truth when I said that I already have some Nican pottery...and when I saw him pass I would ask him how business was. I had fun swimming in the baby waves and listening to the salsa music from the bars around me. I am sure it was one of those bars that I was at last year when I was in San Juan with a friend. Man, the memories. That night, we went out. Walking through San Juan is very pleasant, as you feel like you live in the Hollywood hills, in a way. Look above and around you, and you will see hills, with lots of lights. It was very pretty. The bay is housed with many yachts with their pretty lights on as well.

Before we would hit the town, we had to eat. Since they wanted to eat at a pizzeria, I was left in the dust, being that I couldn't have cheese. I had expired granola instead. However, the pizzeria is an Italian one and recommended by many. Upon going out, Sana asked me to go talk to Douglas and ask him where all the surfers hung out. Not hearing her, I was convinced that his name was Paco. So, for the whole weekend, I called this poor man Paco, and he responded. It wasn't until my birthday night at the bar that he finally blew up at me. His name was Douglas, not Paco. I think I have selective hearing.

The night was less than eventful, as we hung out with the type of crowd I wouldn't want my kids to spend time with and I was tired from the early morning. Elizabeth and I left to go to bed.

The next day, we took transport to Playa Maderas. We were going to walk the two hours, but with Sana's sprained ankle, we decided that transport was best. We went with a tour van with other tourists. Being in that van was wonderful, as I went along the path one year ago with my friend. Although we had a private truck, the path is the same: dirty and bumpy off-roading. You even have to wade through the river on part of it. It is an adventure. You pass hills and beautiful landscape. Too bad the property is quickly being purchased for luxury condos. I once said to myself last year when I was here that I wouldn't mind having a vacation house along these hills. Property is hot. We arrived, 20 minutes later to a site once familiar to me. Imagine the song Bitter Sweet Melody, with the symphony. This is what sang in my ears when I saw this beach for the very first time and here it was again, waiting for me. I ran out...just taking it in. Although last year I was here at 5:30am and on a deserted beach, this time was fun as well, sharing it with 100 others. However, not the same. I preferred the former. I loved sitting on the sand, letting the soft sand act as a natural chair. With the tide changing throughout the day, we had to constantly move our stuff up and up and up.

We were given transport from the same man, after the sunset. That night, we went to the pizzeria, this time ordering cheese less pizza for me. It was actually pretty good! The night was not complete without some good salsa dancing and live music. At the red neck restaurant called Big Waves Joe's, we listened to a Nican man with an obvious wig who sang to the classics. However, it was too cheesy and a spot for red necks...but a good place for cheap fruity rum drinks. I was glad to leave and do something where I was required to put in some skills, like salsa dancing! However, it didn't help that our company again included drunk Nica men...I tried to dance, but couldn't in my rubber sandals. Leaving frustrated I didn't bring my dancing shoes, we found a fight outside. Like I said, drunken Nica men.

The next morning, we all did our own thing. We all separated and it was good to do that. Sana and I agreed to meet up later for the beach but the morning was free. I went to the port early morning, as I heard it offered a good view. The view from the fishery smelled like fish, but it offered a beautiful view of the bay, as I was up on a dirt cliff. I love finding these vistas, or views, as a solo traveler. However, I had no one to share it with and no camera! So, I arrived back in the hostel to find Sana. We were trying to hitch a ride with a group to Playa Maderas again. With Sana's connections, it was possible. She has a friend of a friend who has a car. We were ready to leave around 2...when her friends friend didn't show up, we decided to show up around 3pm.You see, if he doesn't want to leave, he doesn't have to. So, we just sat around, not knowing if we were leaving. After a meal at the luxurious Subway, we finally agreed to pay transport. Sana was inside while I took the outside, holding Sana's new surfboard in my hands. For once in my life, it appeared that I owned a surfboard! Plus, I prefer the outside. Here we come again Maderas. This time at the beach, I walked to a nearby beach, which offers a better and prettier view of the rocks. However, upon seeing a man hiding in the rocks, I turned around and walked the other way, staying close to other people. The beach was full of fun and people. I also met Annie, a native Colorado gal who is living in San Juan for a year to help with the pet clinic. We exchanged information and agreed to meet up sometime in the future.

Being my birthday weekend, Sana got me in the water and on the surfboard. This was very fun. I remember swimming in these waters a year ago, and with the strong under toe, I had a hard time. Today, it was the same. I also remembered how it was swimming this time around. Since I have lost a lot of weight naturally through stress and hot weather here, each time a big wave came, which was all the time, my bottoms would fall off! I was afraid the same thing would happen on the surfboard. As I caught a big wave, I stayed on the surfboard, letting it rest on my tummy. The power of the wave brought me to shore. What a rush of energy!!! However, with all the other surfers here, it is dangerous to swim especially and to catch waves that everyone else wants to catch. However, I had fun and had Sana here to help me.
That night, we were without transport. Sana and I caught glimpse of a lonely truck just as it was about to leave; we asked if we could hop in.and he let us. I was in the front, and Sana in the back with her board. I thought it was from Nica, and automatically spoke Spanish with him. However, I found out he was from America, and after college, decided to live and work in Granada. He now has a Nican wife and has been here for almost 10 years! It is really nice to hear those stories, as more foreigners are finding happiness in the third world. We finally arrived in the city of lights and hills. Of course I asked him how much I owed...he said absolutely nothing. Little blessings like these are nice to receive and meeting this gentleman made the world a little less big. I think about the night, and had Sana and I not asked him at that moment exactly, we would have been without a ride, or pay an expensive taxi...

For dinner, we decided to do something pura Nican. We knew what touristy places felt like and we saw more upscale pretty places. We finally settled in on a local kitchen that sold chicken only. The grill was outside on the sidewalk. Now, as this was cheaper, it was definitely pura Nica. When I say this, imagine with me this scenario: Upon entrance, you will see a gray brick building with cement floor and walls. You will sit in plastic chairs and if there is a TV, there will he some silly music videos on with underdressed women flaunting themselves on the screen. You will wait for someone to find you actually arrived. When someone does, there is no greeting or any notepad. Your waiter will not have menus and will ask what you want. Upon finding out that there are only three options, she remembers them in her head and yells outside through the cement window to her mom what to cook, who is on the sidewalk cooking on her makeshift grill. The environment is not pleasing and you get the normal food. Nothing special. However, it is nice to note the differences in environment, service, and food. When you pay, don't expect them to have change either...After a bland night of gallo pinto and chicken, which I have every night, I was excited to have some fun!

That night, it was birthday celebrating time!!! I got into the nicest clothes I had, which were jeans and a t- shirt, and went out on the town with my girls. We got free drinks all night and we made sure to extend it past midnight, as my actual birthday was Monday. And, I took my first Nican shot here, something chocolate. This one went down well. Bar hopping is not my thing, but the only thing open besides restaurants. At least it was a place to socialize. At one bar, we enjoyed a nice view of the San Juan hills. At the other below, we met two Englanders. They would actually be heading to the island tomorrow. By natural flow, many tourists visit San Juan and then the island of Ometepe. I had a wonderful time, and was glad to be spending my 23rd in a foreign country and in good company. My last special birthday abroad was in good old Barcelona for my 21st. Perhaps there will be more birthdays I will celebrate abroad...given my track record...The night ended earlier, as it was a Sunday night and not many people were out.

Monday, my actual birthDAY 23 years ago, I was given the royal treatment. I didn't have to carry anything, as Sana took care of it. How nice to feel special on your special day.
This morning, after saying goodbye to La Soya family and Paco (Douglas), we headed back to the NPH office from our taxi friend Henry from Friday. It's funny how we ran into him again! The office always holds surprises. We met a new pequeno that NPH just found! Antonio was a special kid and on top of it, we were fed and given transport to the ferry with one of the directors. On the ferry, we found room outside, as it was full. This also happened to be the wettest part of the journey! My group, as well as the other tourists I met that were making their way up from San Juan, got soaked. As I was trying to recommend where to visit on the island to a nice Canadian girl, my paper was getting wet with each word...no use here. Upon getting off, we were picked up by the NPH truck. I think running into the directors on the ferry is quite helpful, as transport is always provided. Being home was great and I missed the kids.
That night, I was surprised with a pancake and chocolate dinner from my volunteer friends. How sweet of them, as they know I LOVE pancakes. I also had an electronic video message waiting from my family. It was really sweet to be thought of like that. With my natural ebb and flow of my falling off the honeymoon period of my time in Nica, receiving these little luxuries from my parents are big blessings in my life.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb