San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sunset Sunset Sunset

San Juan Del Sur
Back to Central America for a short trip. This was my 3rd time to Central America, and this time it was to Nicaragua. That is one of the great things about living in Miami, such a short flight, 2 1/2 hours and you are in another country. It takes longer to fly and visit relatives in my own country.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

After arriving in Managua, we took a taxi ride for less than 2 hours to the beach and surfing town of San Juan del Sur. It was beautiful. Here we met up with Daddy's high school friend, Dennis, who is working in Costa Rica. I had already met him a couple years ago in Costa Rica, and I always have a lot of fun with him. He arrived at the hotel within 1 hour of us arriving, and we head off to the beach for some great seafood at a restaurant right on the beach. I loved eating the clams and then playing with them in the sand. The town was very laid back and had some incredible sunsets. I had a lot of fun playing catch with my Pippi Longstocking doll (which I got in Sweden this summer) with Dennis.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

One day we took a small boat for a 20 minute ride to a beautiful beach, Playa Marsella. There was barely anybody on it and we made a a girl in the sand we named "Sofia" and I was turned into a mermaid as well. There was a small restaurant on the beach and we had some more fish. I learned how to play music from a coke bottle and made a little concert for Daddy and Dennis on a stage. A little boy cam by, and Daddy bought me a bracelet.

Dennis introduced Daddy to using the video on his camera and I loved it. I have a feeling it is going to be used more on future trips, and daddy is bummed that he didn't use it occassionally on other trips we have done. However, he is not too good at it yet, as he sometimes forgets that he is not supposed to turn it 90 degrees during filming as he does when he take pictures.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Daddy had brought over almost 1000 syringes with needles from his
Sunset and SoccerSunset and SoccerSunset and Soccer

San Juan Del Sur
work to give to public clinics in Nicaragua. I had fun giving some to one of the nurses at a clinic. I had also signed my name on many calculators to give to kids, but we decided to give these in a different city.

We went to visit the best resort in San Juan Del Sur, pelican eyes, to use their swimming pools. It had incredible views of the bay. I had a lot of fun in the pool.

The best part of our short stay in San Juan del Sur was our night trip to the La Flor Wildlife Reserve to see the nesting Olive Ridley turtles. It was a very bumpy 1 hour ride with a bunch of other traveles at night before we arrived on the beach. There was no lights and we had a small little red light that was used to not bother the turtles. I had never seen so many stars! I saw a shooting star and when someone asked me what I wished for, I told them that I wished that it would snow in Miami....little did I know that it was actually freezing in Miami while I was in Nicaragua,
Me and DennisMe and DennisMe and Dennis

Nothing like a game of toss Pippi on the beach
but no snow. After walking for about 30 minutes, we spotted a turtrle. It was soooo cool. However the second turtle was even cooler as I saw it not only making its nest, but laying eggs. What an incredible experience!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The next morning, it was time to say goodbye to Dennis. It was great seeing him again and I know I will see him soon. Daddy and I took off to our next stop, the island of Ometepe......


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Turtle Laying EggsTurtle Laying Eggs
Turtle Laying Eggs

La Flor Wildlife Reserve
My PerformanceMy Performance
My Performance

Playa Marsella
Daddy and I at the poolDaddy and I at the pool
Daddy and I at the pool

Pelican Eyes - To bad we didn't stay here
Me and DaddyMe and Daddy
Me and Daddy

Boat to Playa Marsella
Tres LecheTres Leche
Tres Leche

I licked the plate clean, literally
Dennis and I Dennis and I
Dennis and I

San Juan Del Sur
SofiaSofia
Sofia

Playa Marsella
Dennis and I Dennis and I
Dennis and I

Making Sofia
OctopusOctopus
Octopus

What a Meal!
SofiaSofia
Sofia

Playa Marsella


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb