San Juan del Sur to Managua and Home


Advertisement

Well, I found lobster! Lot's of it! Cheap! Didn't starve in San Juan del Sur!

San Juan del Sur is a nice little beach town. However, it is a bit touristy relative to the other places I've been. I finally got to do a little bit of souviner shopping, although I really wasn't in the shopping mood.

Had a bit of a tough time figuring out the bus schedule. I wanted to leave for Managua on Sunday afternoon, but the senorita at the desk said there were no buses to Managua on Sunday afternoons. I'd need to take a cab. Would cost $70. Hmmmm, I decided to go get more cheap lobster.

On the way to lobster, I passed a cute nica guy I talked with briefly last night. He asked where I was going and I told him about needing to get to Managua today so I could catch my plane tomorrow. But, I had to take a taxi. We said our goodbyes and I continued on to get lobster. Shortly after I sat down, the cute nica guy seeks me out and says he is going to Masaya and he will go with me on the bus to Managua. The bus? There is no bus! He explains I can take the bus to Rivas and then change to a bus to Managua. Duh! Why didn't I think of that! I take him up on his offer as I'm a little nervous about Managua anyway. It would be nice to have company.

I eat my last lobster meal and we head off to the bus station. His name is Antonio and he has a pretty amazing story. If you are curious, ask me about it and I'll tell you. On the bus to Rivas, we are joined by a drunk man who promply falls asleep in the isle. When he wakes up, he loudly explains how his wife is going to beat him for being drunk so early in the day! He exits before we get to Rivas and we watch them unload his bike from the bus roof and he climbs on the bike and wobbles off!

At Rivas we make our bus exchange to Managua. I board and hear "LuAnne, hey, LuAnne!". Where have I heard that before? I look up and see Nick, one of the tourist i met at charco verde on ometepe. he was on his way to managua to meet his girlfriend. we chatted for a few minutes. Had another wierd chicken bus experience to share with you. As we got closer to Managua, two men dressed like clowns, complete with wigs and makeup, boarded the bus and started this dialogue. I couldn't understand them. No one seemed to be laughing. One guy would say something, the other would respond. Then, the first guy would slap him with a newspaper. This went on for about, hmmm, 10 minutes. I asked Antonio what they were saying and he said they were talking too fast for even him to understand! When they finished, they walked up and down the isle looking for spare change for the 'entertainment'. It was just wierd.

Anyway, we finally get to Managua. Nick has suggested a place to stay and we three share a cab there. I check in. It seems nice in the guidebook and on the outside. But, it is pretty shabby.

Antonio and I drop our bags off and we catch a cab to tour some of Managua before it gets dark. We see the new cathedral (not very interesting) and the old cathedral (very impressive, even as devastated as it is), and the old palace. I wanted to go to the park of peace but
we couldn't pay the cab driver enough money to even drive there! Apparently it is a pretty dangerous section of town.

The last place we visit is Mirador, with great views of the City. Antonio points out where the park of peace is -- very close by. But, I guess I'll pass that up. This trip anyway.

Antonio has to leave to catch the last bus to Masaya. We return to my hotel where he collects his bag and we say our goodbyes.

The resturaunt isn't open in the hotel, so, I must leave the compounds to go get food. It really is in like a fortress type structure. The hotel is surrounded by a cement wall topped with razer wire. Don't walk down street to the left of the hotel, the manager warns me. Only
go to the right. It's safer.

Great! OK. I spy a chicken place down the street on the corner and head for it. Get my dinner. I promply return.

I spend a fitful night in the dumpy place where the shower turns itself on and off spontaneously all night long and the TV comes on in the middle of the night! I think chico largo may have followed me from charco verde and is haunting me!

In the morning, I wake up, brush my teeth with the last of my toothpaste, and have my last breakfast - the usual pinto gallo (beans and rice), plantains, and cafe con leche. I chat with Nick and his girlfried. And take the taxi to the airport.

I do some last minute shopping and board the plane that will take me home.

As the plane takes off, I begin to cry. And cry. And cry .....



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb