The freshwater island paradise


Advertisement
Published: August 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

We're waiting for youWe're waiting for youWe're waiting for you

Lakefront in Santo Domingo
(Journal excerpt 8th Feb 2005)
Though i had already been to Isla de Ometepe on account of it being listed among Lonely Planet's list of Central American jewels, my memories of this supposed wonderland were none too marvelous. It had been raining most of the time on my last visit, I had gotten food poisoning, and the jeep we had rented to tour the island dragged along at 5 MPH along the unpaved roads that were worse than most hiking trails I'd seen. Oh, and there were mice in our room and I was plagued with mosquito bites the whole time.

However, despite my initial gut reaction not to waste my time going back, I couldn't help but wonder how the newest LP version made the island out to be even more spectacular this time around and how fellow travelers could keep singing the island's praises to me. So, curiosity got the best of me and I decided to give it another go.

The difference between my memories and my current reality is like night and day. It's sunny, dry, perfect temperatures, and absolutely beautiful....peaceful, serene, and they have completed a large section of paved road, making the journey itself much more pleasant. My hospedaje is in Santo Domingo, on the isthmus connecting the 2 sides of the island, with beautiful lakefront views and pretty gardens with hammocks and rocking chairs to relax in.

We had a pleasant half hour walk along roads lined with eucalyptus and banana trees to the Ojo de Agua natural spring. it's an enchanting little place among the trees with some of the clearest waters I've ever seen. Rich with minerals, the water is so smooth that it ceases to feel like water enveloping you....as if I am suddenly swimming instead in a giant pool of liquid fabric softener. Overhead the gorgeous blue and white urracas and green parrots hop from tree to tree while filling the air with their flirtatious calls, and I can't help but feel the awesome power and beauty of nature and wonder how I got so lucky as to bear witness to it all. Sitting on the rocks to let the sun breathe its warmth back into me after my refreshing dip, my eyes gaze left to the green Volcan Maderas, then they pan right to the perfectly conical active Volcan Concepcion.

And I, right smack in the middle of the two volcanoes, thank heavens that I didn't pass up this opportunity to become a believer in second impressions.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb