Semana Santa


Advertisement

Via CrusisVia CrusisVia Crusis

The guitar provided our music from station to station
I write to you from a rainy Ometepe. The second of April brought rain, a little earlier than expected. It was almost like a little April Fools joke. However, the rain is cleansing to the soul and to the spirit. And, it helps cool things off in this ridiculous heat.

Fitting in work, leisure time, and especially time with the kids is going to make my last 2 months go by very fast. The kids have started going to school all day, until 4pm. This gives me time to spend time at the computer, which I need to do a lot for my job. There are only 2 places in this property that have working Internet since there are problems, as usual. It has almost been 3 weeks with no working Internet at the home. In the office with only available working computer at the time, I have started to look for jobs when I return in May, and I have looked at summer English camps, especially in Asia. I am thinking about applying to a camp in Tokyo, Japan. After a year in a little town, I feel I need a large city. I am just having fun looking around. Nothing has been decided.

Besides this, I have been trying to spend as much time with the kids as I possibly can. In the past, I used to go to the home right after dinner. However, I have stuck around longer now. I used to find this time before bedtime better used for my personal down time at the home, but, now that I don’t have to get up as early as I am not a teacher, I get home later, around 9pm.

My favorite routine is to hang out in Stephanie’s room, right after supper. Every few days or so, I bring some English music, to add a little variety to their limited collection. Stephanie has taught me how to make one type of bracelet, an art called artesania. It looks complicated, but I have managed to make one and it is actually very easy! On top of that, I have taken a look at all the kid stuff I have in my room that could be of good use. An hour before dinner, I do an art craft with the kids. The other day, I made bead jewelry with the little girls. With the older girls, we made collages from teen magazines. They are so grateful for anything you give them or teach them. Although this time is usually stressful, as the little kids like to fight over the supplies, I try to make it as relaxing as possible, which it was intended to be. However, its just funny how a good intention can go bad. But, here, you just take the bad with the good.

I have started to eat lunch with the boys now and I eat dinner with the girls. At lunch, I always sit next to Jeffrey, where he always opens up to me about his life. He just wants to be my friend. After lunch, we make 4 laps or so around the school, just to walk, right before classes start. I really like being there for him and it gives us both something to look forward to every afternoon. I never used to develop these routines of being there for one person in particular, but now in my last months, I have tried to stick as closely to these routines as possible because the kids love it.

Semana Santa is in April this year, later than last years. On Friday, we kicked off this week of religious importance with an activity called the Via Crucis. It is meant to remember the walk Jesus took up to Calvary; we stop at 12 Stations of the Cross along the way back from church. Our Via Crucis was complete with Tio Julio dressed as Jesus, one Tia as Mary, and Jose as the man who helped Jesus carry His cross. Various children held up murals depicting a station of the cross. When that station was called, the child held up the painting and the actors positioned themselves in a still shot depicting the same scene. While we walked between stations, we sang worship songs with the guitar while the actors whipped Jesus with Palm Trees. It was a real experience for many kids. The acting made it very real and personal.

After the drama presentation, it was time for our little prized vacations away from NPH. Three of us headed to Moyogalpa to celebrate Lola’s birthday. After being pelted with eggs (a birthday tradition) by the kids, we took some showers and were off. Moyogalpa is the largest city in the island and although going there is like the next step in reaching more civilization, I really do not like the night- life, or the day life for that matter. I paid a visit to a restaurant called Yogi’s, ran by an older man whom I know and refuses to live a life where he is tied down to one place. His business attracts all the volunteers on Ometepe Island and he is known to throw themed parties, for Presidential elections, NBA tournaments, etc. We spoke about travel. Having a free spirit himself, living in many countries, he has really inspired me to not worry about the specifics in life. If I have a goal, it can be achieved in many ways. There are as many opportunities for me as there are stars in the sky. He spoke about two European women my age who came to Guatemala (where his last business was) to help him run his hostel and restaurant. He told me that they learned so many skills and because of their non-defeatist attitudes and offers to help out wherever they were needed, they now have their own business, own properties in two counties, and make more money than their parents combined. And, they are around my
Strong womenStrong womenStrong women

Although they were weeping for Jesus, I do not think they are good actors
age! I guess that when you say yes to life and jump on opportunities, you will win big. After a nice dinner, I went to bed, preferring my book to the nighttime activities. However, my friends were having fun, interacting with interesting men and sipping Tona’s. I feel that they need that, a little fun and distraction from the kind of life we have with the kids.

We stayed in Indio Viego hostel, a very familiar place for NPH volunteers, in the past and present. We know the owners and the place has a nice environment. It is the only hostel I know of with a pet deer. And, although there are no mirrors, the walls are held in place with tape, the toilet seat is broken, the shower is a lead pipe of cold water, and the mattresses are plastic, we like it for the unique environment it offers. After running into Johanna (one of 3 Peace Corp volunteers on Ometepe), a co English teacher who has gone to teachers meetings with me for secondary (high school), reminding me of how small this island and country really is, we were off on the ferry boat.

Dubbed the
MaryMaryMary

This is a very strong picture. She is a great actor.
oldest city in the Americas, Granada is a popular get-away that is very close to us, only 1.5 hours by bus. This weekend, I would be staying with Mark and Lorine, a retired couple from Oregon. I first met Mark and Lorine on the plane to Managua from Atlanta when I was going back from my vacation in MN. We sat next to each other and ended up talking about Nicaragua, which we both have in common. They invited me to stay at the home they housesit for in Granada.

Mark and Lorine are not your typical retired couple. They feel that it is very important to give service in life, no matter at what age. Three times a week, they offer free English lessons at various levels at the home. Apart from that, they do home visits and really get to know their neighborhood. I was very inspired witnessing the relationships they have with the community and I could tell that the people were very grateful. On off days or before classes, they have birthday parties for the kids in their neighborhood and pool parties.

Having a room of my own, I had a very nice weekend.
BaseballBaseballBaseball

Although this picture looks cheesy with his NPH straw hat, it still shows that Nicaragua is the home of baseball
I participated in the English class Saturday night. I didn’t care if I was missing out on dance night; I was having fun being at this home and speaking with the people of Granada. For the first time since coming to this city at least once a month for more than I year, I have never really seen this side of Granada. I only knew the tourist side, sleeping in hostels and meeting other tourists.

For meal times, I would spend time with my friends, the other volunteers, and spend the other parts of the day with Mark and Lorine, which was also really fun. It was as if I had two different social circles I was going back and forth to. Mark and Lorine treated me like their daughter, whom they tell me I am very similar to. It was as if they adopted me for 3 days. We even watched Desperate Housewives and Dancing with the Stars at night, two of my favorite shows. They let me use their Skype cell phone, with great reception, to call home. It was like a piece of home. When I wasn’t eating with my friends, they invited me eat with
PicturesPicturesPictures

The kids held up the picture that corresponded with each station of the cross
them. They are vegetarian and eat very well. In this country, it is actually easy to have a healthy lifestyle if you choose it. They have a clean home, are extremely healthy in their dieting and exercising (they look very good for their ages), and volunteer. They are definitely not a typical retired couple.

Lorine took me on a tour to the bread shop, the gym, and to Ivis’s home. Ivis is an advanced student in the English classes and a very nice young man. We visited his home, on a dirt road between two homes. When we arrived, his father was giving guitar lessons to a little boy. He is a music teacher and plays the flute. I was just so happy to interact with a real family, something I have been craving to do. I hate being a tourist; it seems so shallow to me. Only spending my time satisfying myself all the time does not make me full. Traveling while volunteering is far more satisfying. It is good to see the places of this world, but after you have seen what is on the surface, I would like to dig deeper and know the people who
El Indio ViejoEl Indio ViejoEl Indio Viejo

The only hostel I know of with a pet deer.
make up a neighborhood. While we were witnessing this little boy play guitar and sing, only after 5 lessons, Ivis and his sister Kenya (26 and 27) walk in. We invited them over for a pool party.

Arriving when they said they would, complete with cookies, chips, and bananas, we had a great time. Ivis and Kenia are both good-looking and not your typical pueblo Nicaraguans. Their father, a very respectful man, is from Bluefields and therefore they have beautiful faces and skin colors. Both Ivis and Kenia are educated, serious yet fun, and bilingual. Kenia is a lawyer and Ivis studied accounting.

It was nice to interact with mature people my age. I taught his sister to make a pulsera (bracelet) like the ones they sell on the street and Ivis talked to me about his father’s city of Bluefields, which he invited me to visit with his family. We talked about the revolution, a topic I am very interested in. Not even liking history, the Nicaraguan history really pulls me in. I love to research and read books about any topic, something that started since I was first exposed to the country. The evening ended when
Catedral MercedCatedral MercedCatedral Merced

I was given a private tour of the churches of Granada. In the background is the largest of these churches.
Ivis invited me for a walking tour of the churches of Granada an hour before sunset. This is also something I have never done, as nobody has ever wanted to do attempt it without a guide. Now, I had a local who explained things and also protect me as a gringa from unwanted attention. Lacking the glamour of European churches, these churches were still nice in their own way. Most are not painted outside, to save on funds. All funds are directed inside. Although most churches give an ugly impression, that changes once one steps inside. Usually, there are people praying inside at any time of day, as the people are very traditional and religious. The best part was climbing the 71 steps up Cathedral Merced. Seeing all of Granada, I marveled at the view, and the sunset behind Mombacho Volcano. These types of views are the perfect places to get some good perspective at how small we really are in this world.

The weekend was not complete without a visit to the markets of Masaya. Walking through the garbage infested marked of Granada to get to the bus, I held my breath for the stench. I hate walking
View from MercedView from MercedView from Merced

I just love this picture!
through the market. However, one of the bus stations is located behind it; it is impossible to avoid. Walking through an alley I would never want to walk through at night, we found the buses to Masaya. While waiting, I saw kids with no shoes hang out on the streets, filthy, as their mothers sold chicle or other small merchandise to the passer-bys.

Arriving in the non-tourist market in Masaya is another culture shock, as it is so filthy. The Nicaraguans will do anything to get your attention just so you can see what they are selling. We spent 4 hours bartering prices and shopping to our hearts content. For me, it was time to buy everything I have been holding off for the last 14 months and getting gifts. I was still very frugal and only spent $40 for everything. Not knowing when I will be back to Nicaragua, I didn’t hold back as much as I used to. It was easy to know that I lived in Nicaragua and therefore there was always a next time. However, time is ticking and I don’t know when I will be able to afford a plane ticket back here. By
Merced at sunsetMerced at sunsetMerced at sunset

For some reason, from this lookout point, I was reminded of my visit to the Vatican: not as big but very beautiful.
the time we were done, we were soaked in sweat and dead tired! I gladly took a cold shower. Dinner was spent with a Norwegian girl Lola and Tini met in their hostel. Although only 27 years old, she has lived in Nicaragua three times for 3 NGO’s at 3 separate times of her life. Apart from Nicaragua, she has been to almost every continent. Living in Managua currently, we agreed to meet up. Staying in hostels can be really fun sometimes, because you meet very inspirations travelers and other volunteers. It is a great way to network.


When I got home to Ometepe, I unloaded my purchases. Then, I took a shower with shampoo and conditioner for color-treated hair (my little luxury) and basked in what it felt like to be clean. Before coming to this country, it was clear that what I brought to Nicaragua was not much and I had much more junk back at home. For example, I only brought my worst clothing articles. However, living in a culture that is far from abundant, I have learned to guard what I have, as the kids do. It is terrible to constantly be worried where
ConcepcionConcepcionConcepcion

From Merced, you can see everything! Even my home on Ometepe Island!
you stuff is and always thinking that someone stabbed you in the back. Unless noticed, one can start to hoard and not be generous of what they have sometimes. I have really learned to push these feelings and thoughts aside and be as generous as possible. I have really started to utilize what I have here for its best use possible. I find that when I share what I have, it only creates more joy. You only get what you give.





Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Blue ChurchBlue Church
Blue Church

Not too sure which church this is. Grananda, Nicaragua.
In prisonIn prison
In prison

Apparentely, this prison is where Somoza, the Nicaraguan dictator, used to torture his victims.
Patricia's CigarsPatricia's Cigars
Patricia's Cigars

This one is for my mom, though she doesn't smoke
From a miradorFrom a mirador
From a mirador

This is a lovely view point! This mirador, or looking out point, is from inside a home.
Mark and LorineMark and Lorine
Mark and Lorine

Would you believe it that I met these two lovely people on the plane? It turned into an invite into the home they are housesitting for in Granada.
GranadaGranada
Granada

This is the perfect time to visit Granada, as it is right before the rain comes. The trees give this city life.
GranadaGranada
Granada

I remmeber my first exposure to this city: This church stood in my memory. It is still very beautiful. I get to see it every month if I want to.
Green BirdGreen Bird
Green Bird

At the market in Masaya. I love this market...I had such a good time here the first time I came. I remember in 2007 when I first saw this type of bird. They are everywhere!
PlantainsPlantains
Plantains

Although these hard bananas make tostones, my favorite food, they sure make a mess!
Chicle, bon bons!Chicle, bon bons!
Chicle, bon bons!

These are the type of women who walk up and down the bus to sell you merchandise. How lovely.
Juice in a bagJuice in a bag
Juice in a bag

For 1 Cordoba, you can do what the Nicaraguans do: drink juice from a bag. No need for a straw either! Just bite down and there you go!
A father and his sonA father and his son
A father and his son

You meet all sorts of people on the bus, some not good. This poor man cannot even speak.


Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb