Food Poisoning In Granada


Advertisement
Published: March 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

In the wee hours of the morning Dan got up and was sick. It was immediately clear that he was suffering from food poisoning; something we had managed to avoid before now. I felt so bad for him and also wondered if I was going to be sick soon. Around 7 am I set out to try to find some medicine for him, did some Google searches and bought some PowerAid so he could try to hydrate. I went back to sleep after I returned and when I awoke he was still in pretty rough shape.



I left him to go find some lunch since I hadn't eaten all day. I walked to a pizza place and had a small lunch and savored the Pepsi I ordered. On the walk to and from the restaurant, guys were whistling, and saying stuff to me which I couldn't understand but it was obvious they were hitting on me so to speak. So ridiculous I thought, do they actually get girlfriends this way. Usually I don't have to deal with this sort of thing because Dan is with me. All the girls we run into traveling alone or groups of just girls have this problem and it's one I am thankful I am able to avoid most of the time. Latino men certainly are different than American men. It seems like they do what they do more to show off in front of each other than anything.



I found Dan awake when I returned and slightly better, I brought him bread and bananas to see if he could eat something which he was grateful for. The hostel had a couple of DVD players and TV's and I ran into Hanz who said he had The Hobbit on DVD so we borrowed it but found that it was dubbed in Spanish. 2nd failed attempt to watch the dang movie, maybe it isn't meant to be! We watched Lincoln instead and I was thrilled to actually be watching a movie. Dan needed more rest afterwards so I read and stayed in.



The next day we set out to actually see the town. We went to some churches, the plaza, poets park and the shore of Lake Nicaragua. Granada is a colonial city so there are a lot of cool buildings to see. The lake itself looks very dirty. In the 80's they found that a lot of raw sewage had been pumped into the lake and that has stopped but it's really a strange color to look at and the shore was full of garbage. Granada is a nice city but a tourist town and so it's more expensive than other places in Nicaragua. Personally I liked Leon better, mostly just the vibe I got from it I think.



We returned to the hostel so Dan could rest, he still wasn't 100%. We ran into a girl named Anna who we had seen a couple other times during the trip. She is from Poland and an absolute pleasure to be around. She was swimming in the pool when I saw her and after I told her about my foot and that I couldn't swim she assured me that I was actually better off outside the pool, that there were jellyfish and sharks in the pool and she didn't even know why she was in the pool. Ha ha, such a funny girl and so positive. Later we went to dinner with her and her friend and then went and got Sangria. We had excellent conversation and it was such a nice evening. I hope we will see her again some day. She is the kind of person I know I would be friends with if we lived near each other =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb