Crafts in Masaya


Advertisement
Published: December 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Benjamin felt better this morning, and our days in Nicaragua are limited, so we decided to try a shopping trip to Masaya. There are two markets, the newer one for locals, right next to the bus "station", and the older but nicer one for tourists. Naturally we went to the former. It's kind of like the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul: endless small stalls, each a little family-run retail operation. Many sell food. (Why is there only one kind of cheese in this country? A long line of stalls all selling the same white cheese, what's the point of that??)

After an hour Benjamin's energy (and mood) started to peter out, and we had to head back to the bus without much to show for it, only a few small purchases. I was tempted to buy the excellent very sharp machete, and encouraged by my son, but in the end I decided whenever I need to hack my way through a jungle, I'll borrow one.

Upon our return to Casa Don Carlos I walked to the square by myself to tell Salvador we would have to postpone our scheduled boat tour of Las Isletas because of Benjamin's illness. I found
Bus "station"Bus "station"Bus "station"

Ever wonder where old US schoolbuses go?
him and told him. He said "OK" then "There's a reporter here, would you talk to her about your experience riding my carriage?" Sure I would. Well, I tried anyway. I couldn't really quite follow her questions entirely, but I told her in Spanish that Salvador was the best carriage driver in the whole world. Then she took my picture. Before I left I asked when and where this story would appear: Sunday (day after tomorrow) in "Hoy" newspaper. I resolved not to mention this incident to the others, and look for that paper on Sunday.

We spent the evening playing hearts at the house. It's great to have so much space to relax in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb