Granada


Advertisement
Published: April 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm not sure why I came to Granada or why I ended up spending two nights there. It's a popular tourist hub so I figured to get some touristly stuff done in a tourist-friendly venue before I pressed on further south. I succeeded in getting some internet stuff done and I had a few decent meals for a change but I failed to get the Scion serviced.

I went for a hike down to the lake. It wasn't a pretty place. The park adjacent charged a small entry fee to view the piles of trash left left behind by the Easter weekend revelers. I would like to believe that this park would be much cleaner on another day but I'm not at all confident that this would be the case. I have seen a lot of Nicaragua that is hopelessly littered.

I did enjoy exploring the market area. I feel like I get the best take on what a place is about by viewing its trade and the market here was an exceptionally good one.

I also failed at getting a decent night's sleep. The oppressive heat and humidity is getting to me. I had a good fan in my room but it just swirled the hot air. I perspire 24/7 to the point that I no longer exist in solid form. I am nothing left but an amorphous blob of sweat contained by my clothing. My sole remaining function is to drive ever southward to convert the region's finite supply of orange juice and Coca Cola light into sweat.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb