i wish a mf would


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yeah, in a pissy mood. Not sure why. Something to do with S leaving back for her site, not getting breakfast, being the only one hauling water for the first 5 trips, not being proficient at washing pants on a 1.5x2 foot concrete slab, having Eyebrows be in such a good mood, Heartbreaker´s silence, and the fact that the aforementioned took my camo hat with him today and I am wearing my comfort BMC 1999 Hell Week shirt from Mel and wanted my goddamn camo Phillies cap to go with it but had to settle for stealing his Che hat. Also, this keyboard sucks.

All I wanted to listen to on my hike down the mountain was Eminem and 50. And all I kept thinking all morning was, I wish a mothereffer would. As in, I WISH someone would eff with me so I could let some of this aggression out.

But I settled for hiking down the mountain to San Lucas... which is Spanish for, try not to slip on the gravel and fall down the mountain and/or get run over and/or inhale enough dust to cover one´s lungs, and coming here to the cyber for a while.

In other news, Eyebrows and I are getting closer. She is the only Nicaraguan I´ve met who is sarcastic or has a dry sense of humor. Most Nicans walk slowly. I walk slowly. For the last few days S kept telling me, ¨My god, Mol, you walk like a Nicaraguan,¨rather exasperatedly. But Eyebrows does not walk slowly. She practically run-walks. A week or two ago she made fun of how slowly I walk and I shot right back at her how she´s walks so fast and what the hell does she have to hurry to or from? Then I hiked UP the mountain - which she says takes her half an hour, and when I arrived, she was like, how long did it take you? Two hours? And I was like, NO, about 45 minutes! And she looked at me and said, with her straight severe face, huh, a miracle.

And that was when Eyebrows changed in my world. And I realized, my god, she DOES have a sense of humor!

Also, just saw that TIME magazine voted Obama as man of the year. I am avidly reading the whole article online. Makes me homesick, even though I AM NOW SURE that this is where I´m supposed to be at this point in my life, serving in the Peace Corps in Nicaragua.

http://www.time.com/time/specials/2008/personoftheyear/article/0,31682,1861543_1865068,00.html?iid=tsmodule

excerpts from time.com´s article on Barack Obama...

"I don't think there's some magic trick here. I think I've got a good nose for talent, so I hire really good people. And I've got a pretty healthy ego, so I'm not scared of hiring the smartest people, even when they're smarter than me. And I have a low tolerance of nonsense and turf battles and game-playing, and I send that message very clearly. And so over time, I think, people start trusting each other, and they stay focused on mission, as opposed to personal ambition or grievance. If you've got really smart people who are all focused on the same mission, then usually you can get some things done."

Stop and look back at those last few words, because they are a telltale sign of Obama's pragmatism.

..........

Also, there is a photo of people tatooing a pig here in Beijing.... http://www.time.com/time/picturesoftheweek/0,29409,1860936_1804187,00.html

............

Teaching 7-12 year olds went well yesterday. Had 15 students and did, as planned, head shoulders knees and toes and colors.

13 and older today. Wonder how that´ll go. Easy enough to play games and sing songs with kids, but with teenagers and adults, man oh man. Argh.





Advertisement



18th December 2008

well, yeah, good to get online sometimes...
and get to "get outa yourself" and your little dusty world, huh? Am anxious to see how your older class went for you. I'd just bet that they'll end up being your very favorite challenge in the end! Still got plans for New Years on the beach? Sure am envying you THAT one right now. Brrrr cold up here (but feelin' VERY Christmasy!). Heading up to get Granddad Fri. AM. Wish us luck. High up there to be 0*, Cindy says!
19th December 2008

EXTRA! EXTRA! X-mas Cheer Needed in Nica! Pronto!
Jingle bells, Jingle bells, jingle all the way.... Feliz Navidad y Prospero Ano y Felizidad Wow you seriously need a good ol' dose of Christmas spirit. I guess that's easy for me to say, but I promise, cheer is on the way! Ha ha, that rhymed like a Christmas poem!
22nd December 2008

nica christmas cheer
cassi, have i told you recently that i love you?! ´cause i dooooo!!!

Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb