every time i see a business i think about how i could do it better


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

19 August 2009
Esteli 10:30 am

Every time I see a business I think about how I could do it better.

If only that applied to my volunteer work. I am a bad volunteer. I could be better. I am not giving this job my all, living up to my expectations, etc.

I like to dream and plan the next step more than live in the present.

I need to set aside dreams of the future and focus, really focus, on being a better volunteer.

I work well with schedules and goals. I need to set up a schedule. A budget of my time, so to speak.

Yup. Things to do…. Continue teaching English to the kids at school.

Start actually studying Spanish again… like with a notebook and dictionary. I can get by, but after a year in country I should have a higher level.

Continue working on my personal photos and writings.

Plan a wedding.

Work harder with Fabretto and the coffee project. Learn how to actually export the product from Nicaragua and import it into the States.

Build a barrel oven in my site. By the end of October.

I think these goals should keep me plenty busy.

Time to get outta here and catch the bus back to Somoto and to my site!

signing off from the nica!


Advertisement



20th August 2009

me too!
I think the same thing! Maybe post-Peace Corps you and I should be small business consultants. Or micro-finance managers. I'm so happy for you, Baade!
23rd August 2009

um,...
Ummm,...like, YEEEEEEAH, guess you have plenty to keep you occupied! AND, build a brand new latreen (sp?) with some real air vents and post-1922 pit!! Ha! OK, short email to follow. xo
26th August 2009

Yes,
YES!!!!!, Elissa!! You guys would be GREAT at that! Keep those wheels in gear!

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb