the start of the next 2 years of my life


Advertisement
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

saturday
23 nov

Oh, lovely Estelí.

I am now an official Voluntaria del Cuerpo de Paz. Because of the riots in Managua, our ceremony was moved to the US Embassy, which I thought was way cooler than some conference room in the Hilton.

I am exhausted. Celebrating for the last two days with lots of Nicaraguan rum, margaritas, dancing, and pool parties. Now I sleep and then I get up and post more and go to my site...

Tomorrow is the first day of the next 2 years of my life in Moropoto, Madriz, Nicaragua.

...........

sunday
24 nov

Wow last night´s full night of sleep did wonders. I don´t feel so overwhelmed. I am going to go to my site, stay for 4 days, and be back here to Estelí for Thanksgiving with other volunteers. The key to getting through my first few months at site with my limited Spanish and no schedule is going to be breaking it up into manageable sections of time. I am a goal oriented person, and I need things to keep me occupied.

It is both a blessing and a curse to be part of the Agriculture sector. We have no structure. We do not work in buildings or schools like TEFL, Health, Environmental Eduation, or even Small Business. And many of those volunteers are in capital cities. We Aggies are out in the boonies of Nicaragua, on the front lines of food security, in communities sometimes without electricity or running water, and we have no set structure. Which means we have the most freedom in deciding what projects to pursue.... but it also means you have to be a real self-starter. Which I am. But it´s going to be tough for the next few months.

Okay, and on that note, it is time to pack my stuff and get to the bus station!

over & out in nicaragua,
your newly appointed voluntaria del cuerpo de paz


Advertisement



1st December 2008

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!
Ahhhhh.......big sigh, huh? We're so proud of you and happy FOR you! Good job! Now, the fun begins................

Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb