trippy trio


Advertisement
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thank you all for the warm birthday wishes! Mi madre gave me roses from her garden in the morning and made me traditional Nican birthday food, or chopsue. Yeah, actually, it really is traditional birthday food here... and, as usual, it rocked.

The 3.5 month old baby, JJ, is just so damn cute and soooo incredibly tranquil and happy that he makes the whole house happy. Actually, my family is usually happy. They joke around with each other all the time, especially my 17 year old brother, Isaac, and nuestra madre. He keeps arm wrestling our 49 year old mom.... and she wins everytime! Man, doing laundry by hand will give you some fuerte arms.

I need to get photos with my family so you all can see them... life is getting into a routine...

Iowa, VTech and I have a new professor and are having class at Iowa´s house for the next 3 weeks.... our Spanish is getting a lot better and we´re getting along better, too, which is good. We´re generally a happy, goofy trio and we keep each other in line pretty well. Our first formal charla with our group of students at the AgForestry School went well... which is saying something since it was all in Spanish, they don´t speak English, and we were talking about commercialization.... which is hard for me to write in English now since I¨´m so used to saying co-mer-cia-li-za-cion over and over and over.

Also, it´s weird, and nice, to spend every day of my life with two guys.... like big brothers... actually, they´re younger than me by a few years and often act like it, but they´re both a good foot taller than me AT LEAST... and while I ´don´t look up to them in the figurative sense, I most certainly do in the literal sense... And they´re both good guys and we seem to work well together, so... yeah.

Okay need to send another email or two ... didn´t get to the post office AGAIN as we took the wrong urbano and ended up taking the ¨scenic route¨though the barrios of east Esteli.

Good times, noodle salad.

Advertisement



2nd October 2008

Oh! LOVE your blog! AND love you!!
Oh, Molly, it's so good to hear from you! Yes, it's good that you all are getting to be so close! I hope so much that your next 'Nica chapter' will be at least as good! Can hardly believe that your language skills have improved so quickly! Impressive! Are you back in Esteli writing this today?? xo
2nd October 2008

me, again!
How far is it to Iowa's house for class? Do you walk to and fro, or is it far enough to require a bus? Are you back home before dark:thirty? ;)

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb