necessarias


Advertisement
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Currently reading:
PS Your Cat Is Dead
by James Kirkwood

Wow have been into Esteli for two days in a row! Yesterday I bought envelopes but got to the post office too late and it was closed and today is Sunday, so will be coming in sometime later this week, too, so I can mail the letters I wrote weeks and weeks ago, which seems like months and months ago.

I came in by myself again and, because it´s Sunday I suppose, the bus took me to the main bus terminal instead of to the hospital. And then I had to wait for like half an hour for an urbano, or central Esteli bus, to come by. Just got here in time, though, as it just began raining! I can smell the wet concrete outside. Good thing I brought my sombrilla, or umbrella.

Speaking of things I´m glad I brought, and of things that are already unnecessary...

Invaluable cosas necesarias:

-The clips used to hold any number of things... my nalgene to my backpack, my shoes to the outside of my bag, anything!

-Speaking of that, I am so glad I bought and brought another Nalg. This one is a cool army green color with black lid. Invaluable.

-My over the shoulder messenger bag that Aunt Lori got me ages ago for a birthday or Christmas. A day pack is great, too, but then your back gets all schweaty and gross. Messenger bags are the way to go.

-Little money pouches. I don´t carry my wallet with me most of the time because it holds all of my cards, so when I come to the city I just put cash and phone numbers inside of a little change purse.

-My ipod, laptop, and camera, obvi.

-Raincoat and umbrella.

-The sandals that I bought my last night in Missourah on sale in WalMart. I bought a strap on pair of brown leather sandals for $15 and another slip on pair of brown leather sandals for $5 bucks. I wear them ALL THE DAMN TIME! I also wear my Tevas, but sometimes, like now with my pink floral dress, black and blue tevas just wouldn´t WORK!

-My travel towel that dries super quickly.

-My HEADLAMP! Arielle´s mama got it for me as a pre-India graduation gift and while it came in handy while travelling in India, it is INVALUABLE HERE! Thank you so much, Rachel! It gets dark here at 6pm and I am often having to walk through the mud in the dark, I carry it all the damn time! Also, when the power goes out. Also, when I need to hike to the latrine in the middle of the night. Also when everyone´s asleep and, with the gap between walls and roof, I don´t like to leave my room light on later than when they all go to bed, so will use my headlamp to read at night. Flashlights are great, but a headlamp in Nicaragua is sooo necessary!

-Plain, lightweight, grey t-shirts. White gets way too dirty, black is suave but hot... my abused BMC tee and another fruit of the loom grey shirt are worn all the damn time.

Yup. mk time to call the counterpart!
Signing off from the Nica!




Advertisement



28th September 2008

hello hello hello! just wanted to say that i love living vicariously through your blog, and that i just realized i forgot to tell you i got the sweet bottle opener you sent me, and use it often, not only to open bottles, but to flaunt that i have sweet family/friends doing sweet things in sweet places. happy headlamping : )

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb