HOORAY for Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: December 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Warning!!!!!!

There are images that might cause offense! Keep away from children!



El Salvador treated to me a a nice breakfast and some corrupt border guards, not so much fun when they tell you that somebody, their collegue made a mistake but the problem was mine.
Enough said about that except that I hate corrupt border guards both i El Salvador an Honduras with every morsel of my soul, may the pox be on them.
Enough moaning.
Honduras for 190 km or so and then into Nicaragua, friendliness and helpfulness at every moment.
The customs guy asked me to open my luggage and I told him I couldn't because I was carrying contraband, arms, explosives and drugs and I did not want to get caught.
He laughed and I showed him my meagre belongings, they would probably have shot me in Honduras for that.
Hooray for Nica!
What a change and a nice one, I was wasted after 4 hours at the border and a long hot day, my plans about riding for 6 hours very day went yet again into the can.
It started to rain and it was really nice as it cooled down a bit I got into Somoto, a place famous(?) for it's canyon as the sun was setting, from dawn to dusk.
I'd rate it higher for friendly people even though I did go to the canyon in the end, made sombody's ends meet that day.
The hotel didn't have safe parking so we took the bike to the safest place in town, the fire station, so the bike was looked after by the firefighters that night and in good company with the fire engines.
I was lucky that there weren't any fires that night.
A slow morning, I stayed in bed until 6.30 a good sleep in, no water so no shower and then I went to the afore mentioned fabled canyon.
Nothing to write home about so I won't but it was a nice walk.
7 people in a shared taxi going up there was more dramatic, 3 in front and 4 in the back bad suspension and wheel lugs missing, but WTF people were happy anyway.
Then it was time to leave, to Granada a very nice beautiful colonial city, abit of rain was coming down and I wanted a room a shower and a beer.
Just as I
2013-12-07 08.17.212013-12-07 08.17.212013-12-07 08.17.21

Fried plantains with chicken
was coming into Granada the local fuzz stopped me for crossing a yellow line and wanted a 15 dollar fine, I took of my gloves and helmet and spent some time telling him what a nice country Nica is and how nice the people are bla bla.
As we were talking I pointed out some locals doing the same thing and I asked him if he was not going to fine them, and he said, no I can't do that I'm talking with you now!
I did not pay and we ended up as the best of friends after 10 mins
The hotel I found yet again sent me to the fire staion for safe guarding my bike and the parking fee is less than a dollar a night.
As I left the firestaion I took a wrong turn and ended up in a hostal instead, a 1/3 of the price , I splurged on a meal instead the room is ok the bed is comforatble and the staff is nice.
Yesterday, sunday, was the last day of the festivities for virgin mary with a long procession where they were carrying a big wooden contraption witha virgin Mary firgure on and some angels and shit, very tacky but everyone looked happy.
I especially liked the guys with wooden pooles pushing up the phone and what not cables so that the virgin could get buy and the guy behind with a generator on a wheel barrow.
Really loud fireworks accompanied the procession.
The local prostitutes where out trawling and obviously saw me as a likely customer, no such luck.
So after a long day it was time to go to bed, a good meal and a beer down the chute.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

2013-12-07 20.10.492013-12-07 20.10.49
2013-12-07 20.10.49

The virgin Mary in Somoto


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb