Schools, Dentists, Fires, Sunsets & Used Tea Bags


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So…no concerned comments from parents after yesterday’s blog. I am disappointed…truly! Part of the problem with our less than serious blog last night is that we failed to talk about the impromptu (actually I had planned it for quite a while) birthday piñata party for Alyssa who turns 18 the day after we return.

Our day began early (at least for me) as Ginny left us for home at 5:30 this morning, actually 6:00 Nicaraguan time. I was sad to see her go, but I know that it is good for our girls.

Today, we went back to work at a school in El Canyon, but we thought we were going to an orphanage. But hey, we did the SURF training, we can be flexible. Actually, it was a good experience with some meaning full work. We repaired literally dozens of desks…at one point Mr. Peters thought they were multiplying…he made some reference to bunnies. We cleaned classrooms and once again, Cassidy is the master cleaner of the whiteboards. I need to spend a year teaching in one of the classrooms down here…it would definitely humble me. The students were finished all the work by lunch and were a little restless…so a soccer game broke out…but before I get to that event filled match…permit me a little rant.

On old missionary (actually my grandfathers second wife) once told me about receiving care packages with ‘used tea bags’. Some well meaning soul thought it helpful, even generous to save their tea bags and send them overseas so some poor missionary could have a cup of weak tea (please read this last sentence with a sarcastic tone). So, as my students were cleaning the library today, I undercover some late 90’s vintage computers, a rag tag collection of spare parts and piece meal computers. Now they did boot up (of course I plugged one in and turned it on) to Window XP, but still, it reminded me of used tea bags. The reality of humanitarian or missional work is that our cast offs or well worn seconds often do more harm than good after they are donated. They break down, are not used or simply frustrate those that they were intended to help. That is not to say we should ever throw good money after bad, but please, if there is a legitimate need for a ‘good cup of tea’ or whatever…don’t send ‘used tea bags’!

Ok, back to the eventful soccer game...the game was going great, the Canadians were acquitting themselves nicely, when tragedy struck (ok, tragedy is a strong word)…as two of the Canadian raced towards the ball, an collision occurred, sending Whitney to the concrete playing field, dislodging one of her teeth. After a brief examination by Mrs. Peters, a collective decision was made to take Whitney to the dentist. Apparently, in Nicaragua, a couple of phone calls can get you an appointment in 45 minutes with a very experienced dentist on a Saturday afternoon. At 4:15 we were let into a posh (ok, Nicaraguan posh) 1960’s vintage office (the furniture was awesome) and then into his examination room. He very professionally examined Whitney, resetting her tooth and giving us the bad news. She needs a root canal as soon as she gets home (I guess she has an excuse not to be in school on Wednesday). The examination and x-rays complete and the prognosis made, I waited expectantly for the bill, a big wad of cash in my pocket (it was a dentist after all). He made out a bill for $50.00…I was startled, half expecting that to simply be the first item on a long list of items, but no, just $50.00.

Our group returned early to the Villa and with a bit of restless setting in, it was suggested that we go to a high point and overlook Managua for sunset. So, with the girls from the Villa in tow, the group went off, I went off to purchase school supplies for the school we will visit in Leon (I could pause for a rant about public schools in Nicaragua having not school supplies at all, but I won’t) on Monday. Apparently, the view was spectacular, and was emotionally punctuated with a view of the mountains of garbage at La Chureca on fire. It was poignant reminder to both the girls who had been saved out of La Chureca to the Villa and our students of the horrendous conditions of that place. Surreal.

Surreal would also describe the shopping trip for school supplies, this time we went to a different place for supplies…I couldn’t believe it as we pulled up this very modern (less than 5 years old) mall. It was this incredibly modern building that rose out of the typical Manguan architecture. Within minutes we were inside shopping in a store that could have been back in Canada (but with better prices). Two hours later (also, a comment about the nature of Nicaraguan commerce could be made at this point) we where helped to our vehicle with carts of supplies for the school in Leon, our Monday (and last day’s) project.

That brings us to the end of this eventful and fruitful day…

Tonight we skipped the debrief (the students are tired) and so I can’t share their often insightful comments about our trip, however, as I sit here, blogging for the second Saturday night in Nicaragua, and as our trip comes to an end, I want to extend a comment to the families of my students. As parents have sent me private emails about their positive feelings about this trip and grandparents have publically commented on the blog, I want to share that this whole experience, and its positive impact, is your impact on the world. Your children are extensions of each of you. What you have instilled in your children is working its way out into the world around me this week. It is a joy to watch such engaged, thoughtful and caring young people. Each life and child they touch, you are touching through them. Each deep thought, new passion for people and desire to ‘change’ little pieces of the world, is a reflection of your influence and values. As we come home in a couple of days, I want to encourage each family to listen to your child, embrace the visions for the world they are creating and continue to foster the care and concern I have seen in your children this week. Thank you!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



9th February 2009

I was in the group before you
I was in the group before you. I don't know if anyone told you, BUT I walked into a trench and hurt my knee. Don't feel bad, Whitney. At least you made it through the majority of your trip without getting hurt. I was only an hour into the 2nd day! I had the same experience at the hospital. A hospital visit, xray, prescription and follow up visit cost $90. I was freaking out thinking it was going to drain my account. Good luck when you get back!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb