Mangy Managua


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 233 cont: One night in Managua

Back in Managua, I found my luggage and undertook the challenging task of negotiating a fair price for a taxi to a hostel. Arriving just before dark, I checked into my dingy lodgings right next to the bus terminal, and went to confirm my bus for the next day. Short of cash, I needed to visit the ATM two blocks away. This proved to be something of a mission as the hostel owner insisted it was too dangerous to walk and that I should take a taxi and get it to wait for me. There followed another round of negotiations as I tried to arrange a fair price for travelling only two blocks! Getting another taxi to a restaurant in the expat area, I had some food and wine before arriving back 'home' after dark to get a good night's sleep ready for yet another early start in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb