"Translation" de amor


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Yuscaran
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Seeing as how the majority of the readers don't understand a lick of Spanish I have translated Karina's blog from yesterday. Keep in mind that this translation is not word for word. In order for Her story to make sense in English I need to change the order of some sentences and the use of certain words. Latinos have a very distinct way of speaking so this might seem a little strange. They are very passionate people and as you will discover they love to talk about love. There are about five different ways to say "I love you."

So a few things will sound a little different, but it is the closest translation I could come up with. Hondurans have a lot of phrases and word usage that either doesn't exist in English or just doesn't make sense. So without further introduction, here is the translation.

Esta historia es narrada desde mi país Honduras donde comenzó una historia de amor en lugar muy pequeño llamado paraíso un lugar donde existen muchas montanas y llamada la ciudad del café

This story is told from a place called Honduras, my place. Where in a small town named Paradise, one with many mountains and which the locals lovingly call “the city of coffee,” a love story was born.

Cuando conocí a clint fue algo sorprendente recuerdo que yo tenia clases un día lunes con mis estudiantes y fue sorpresa encontrar personas norte americanas y ellos estaban con los estudiantes pintando. ese día se me hizo tarde porque teníamos lluvia. Entonces entre a mí iglesia y entonces fue por primera vez que mire personas jóvenes de America

When I first met Clint I remember being very surprised. I had classes on a Monday with my students (Compassion International) I came into work a bit behind schedule that day because of the rain and I was surprised to find North Americans, in our church, painting with the children. So, naturally, I went into the sanctuary because it was the first time I saw American youth in person.

Y cuando yo entro entonces encuentro que una persona solo mire a mí y en mi mente hay una pregunta que tanto mire este hombre a mí? molesta un poco porque el mire cada movimiento pero siempre tenia una sonrisa en su boca

When I entered the church I found that one person was watching me. It bothered me a bit, because He watched my every movement, but always with a friendly smile.

Y entonces después jugamos juntos todos con los estudiantes y este día termino con ellos. Al siguiente día tengo una reunión con compasión alas 2:00 de la tarde entonces el grupo estaba ahí y clint estaba ahí dirigiendo a su grupo

The day passed and the student's time with the Americans was soon over. The students returned to their classes and that meant that I had work to do. On the second day I had a meeting at the church with Compassion International at 2:00. When I got to the church I saw that the group was there once again and Clint was helping and directing the youth.

Pero sus ojos en mi y yo siento una atracción hacia el pero yo fue tímida
Ese momento y después el hace un tarjeta para el pastor entonces yo quiero ver que el hace pero el fue un poco tímido y su grupo molesta mucho a el cuando yo fui cerca y entonces espero para ellos Dan y Clint entonces yo caminar hacia mi casa y ellos a su casa donde ellos se quedaban cada noche y entonces Dan pregunta a mi tiene novio? Yo contesto no y el no creer y entonces el dice a mi Clint no tiene novia y Clint no tengo oh si


However, his eyes remained on me and I felt a bit of an attraction, but I was shy. After the meeting He was making a thank you card for our two Pastors. I wanted to see what he was doing but He wouldn’t let me. He acted shy around me (The truth here is that I wasn’t finished with the card yet and I didn’t want anyone to see it before it was done. I cleared this up with Karina last weekend, but She doesn’t believe me.) And the youth kept bothering him whenever I got close. So I waited till they left and I walked with Clint and his friend Dan for a bit so that we could get to know each other. (Dan spoke a bit of Spanish and He is a close friend of mine.) So we conversed and walked for a bit to where they were staying, because I lived relatively close by.

Then came the question. Dan asked me if I had a boyfriend and I told Him I didn’t. Neither of them believed me, but Dan told me that Clint was single as well. All I said was, “Oh, really?”


entonces este el fin del nuestro recorrido al lugar de destino

At that point we were had arrived at their host family.

Al siguiente día fue un Nuevo día hermoso visitamos una montonas con el grupo y pastor invita a mi y Dan también entonces yo me boy con ellos y clint dice a mí en la Montana si puedo tomar una foto con usted y yo dije si. Fue hermoso saber de una foto junto fue como algo especial cuando el pide una que tenemos una foto juntos. Despues tenemos un concierto entoces el dice a mi karina eres una chica hermosa y yo contesto gracias .y este fuel el fin de este dia

The next day was very beautiful. The youthgroup took a hike up one of the mountains and Pastor Buddy asked me if I wanted to join them. I decided to go. On the mountain Clint asked me if He could take a photo with me and I let him. It was nice to know that Clint wanted to take a photo of us together; something special to remember. After the hike we had a concert at the church. Clint told me, in Spanish, that I was very pretty and I thanked him for the compliment.

despues tenemos una película con el grupo y fue malo por que la película no dar en este lugar entoces jugamos con ellos y entoces yo repartir porcos, despues clint dice ami karina porcos porfavor y gritar muy fuerte karina, karina
y entoces el manda a decir con un amigo mio que el quiere casarse con migo ,y que tiene un anillo, yo dije esto es loco y el amigo dice ,que esta enamorado de mi , pero mi mente piensa que esto es una broma.


After the concert we all went to see a movie. The church had set up a projector in the banquet hall of a nearby Hotel, but it didn’t end up working. I was the popcorn girl. Clint kept calling my name and asking for popcorn, He was being very loud. So I brought him some popcorn and He began to tell me, through a friend of mine, that He wanted to marry me and that He had a ring and that he was crazy about me. So I told my friend, “This guy must be crazy.” I figured he was joking.

y entoces el se acerca ami y dice , hola karina que tal fue muy nervioso cuando dice esto en español yo tambien porque no sabia que decirle en ingles.

After all this nonsense He said a few greetings in Spanish. He seemed nervous and it made me a bit nervous too, because I didn’t know anything in English to say to him.

Despues el pastor invita ami a u na cena de despedida del grupo y entoces yo boy ahí a esta cena y entoces Clint quiere decir ami una cosa y dice ami
Karina te amo y estoy enamorado de usted. Y entoces yo dice a el yo estoy enamorada de ti ,y quiero saber de usted quiero conocer de ti,
Y entoces nosotros hablamos con pastor y pastor dice necesitan concocerce y tambien necesitan saber si esto se da es de Dios , y si no no era la volunta de el
Y despues una persona de iglesia traducir para mi,y fue hermoso las palabras de clint y esto fue haci clint y yo escribimos correos y el aprende una clase de español y entoce habia mas comunicación y cada dia yo pensaba en el cuando el salida de Honduras estaba enamorada y no me di cuenta me hacia falta cuando el se fue de Honduras al siguiente dia senti como queuna parte de ni viida se habia hido me sentiaa triste y sola deciaba ver aquella sonrisa de clint para devolverme el aire y ser feliz y entoces todo se dio en el plan perfecto de Dios y y nos hacemos novios, entoces el volver para mi cumpleanos, y yo me siento mas segura que antes y fue muy especial tenerlo para mi cumpleanos fui feliz ,soy feliz,y sere feliz.


Eventually I was invited to a dinner with the group. It was their last night in our town so I went. Clint wanted to say a few things to me so I sat with him and we spoke through friends. He told me that he liked me and I told him the same, but I wanted to get to know him a bit more. So we met with my Pastor and spoke in greater detail with an official translator. Clint’s words were translated to me and they were very beautiful. We decided that if either of us were serious about each other than we needed to give our relationship a little time. This way we could find out if we were brought together by God or just from our own attractions. Clint said that He would learn how to speak Spanish and we would keep in touch with letters and by phone.

Clint returned to the USA. We kept in touch and he even took a few Spanish classes. Each day we were able to communicate more and more, and each day I thought about him more and more. I missed him, because he had become a part of my life in Honduras. I felt bored and alone without his smile. However, everything is in the perfect plans of God. As we kept in touch we made plans for my birthday. He came to visit me in December and I felt very secure in our relationship together. The visit was very special for me. I was happy, I am happy and I will be happy.


Y entoces yo espero para 8 meses y despues de su ultima visita en honduras yo fui muy fiel para su espera y entoces cada dia nuestro amor se fortalecia y despues llego ese gran dia de espera y entoces el decide venir a trabajar y entoces yo esperar con mucha alegria por que despues de ocho meses estamos mas cerca que nunca .
Y entoces ese gran dia llego y recibe a el en aeropuerto y fue muy emocionante y nuestro amor era mas fuerte que nunca y amo mucho a Clint Holmes
Y el final de esta historia es que ahora estamos comprometido y pronto seremos esposos para siempre.
Y damos la gloria a Dios por habernos encotrado en el camino y ahora somos felices y yo lo amo mucho estoy enamorada de Clint Holmes es el hombre mas maravilloso del mundo y cada dia aprendo cosas de nuevas de el como el aprende de mi esta fue la historia mas romantica que halla exitido esta historia se la dedico a : Dios ,mi familia ,familia de Clint Holmes amigo y especial al hombre mas lindo de este planeta mi futuro esposo Clint Holmes.


And so I waited for eight months after the last visit. I remained very faithful that, out of the castle of our love, a day would come when we would be together. Clint told me that He was going to come and work here, so for eight months I waited. But, it was with much joy, because I knew that after the eight months we would be closer than ever before.

Finally the day came.

We picked up Clint from the airport and I was very excited. The point of this story is that we are finally engaged to be married and soon we will be husband and wife.

I give praise to God for what He has brought unto my life. Right now we are very joyful and very in love together. I am in love with Clint Holmes because he is the most wonderful man in the world and every day I learn new things about him. Who he is and how He felt about me from the beginning. This is the greatest love story of all. I owe our success to God, my family, Clint’s family, Clint’s friends and especially to the most beautiful man on the planet, Clint Holmes




























Advertisement



28th October 2008

The most beautiful man on the planet???
I had translated most of Karina's post when your translation came through. Mine was definitely much rougher than yours, but I was pleased that I had (por lo menos) figured out most of it with a fair degree of accuracy for a rookie. Translating it also taught me a few more commonly used expressions in Spanish. *** I think Barb might be a little bit Latina too since she loves to talk about love as well. It's a great story! Muy hermoso! We're having fun remembering hearing you speak of her last Christmas (and later) (during the summer) . . . you know . . . the whole thing. (Can you tell that tia is watching me type?) *** But tell us, how are things, specifically for Karina's family? Were they far away from los inundaciones malos? *** los Tios
28th October 2008

Enamorado
¡Que duende! ~eric.
28th October 2008

El guapo mas guapo
Cheque, Eric. Karina's family is perfectly fine. I haven't heard anything of the family in San Pedro, but no news is good news. As far as Paraiso, everything is fine. The roads washed out a bit, bit the town is built on an incline so that the water all washes out to the valley. There wasn't any flooding in Paraiso or Danli. Comayagua flooded because it is a valley and we have one of the biggest rivers in Honduras just around the corner from my place. However, todos tranquillo aqui. I'm glad you were able to navigate through Karina's blog. There are definitely many phrases and idioms that Latinos use. They use words differently than we would in English and compose their thoughts differently as well, so translating with accuracy can be difficult. I want to tell you exactly what Karina said, but that wouldn't make sense to an English speaker, so I just gave you the general message.
28th October 2008

World Lingo Translation
Thanks for the translation! World Lingo translated this phrase: Cuando conocí a clint fue algo sorprendente recuerdo que yo tenia clases un día lunes con mis estudiantes y fue sorpresa encontrar personas norte americanas y ellos estaban con los estudiantes pintando. ese día se me hizo tarde porque teníamos lluvia. Entonces entre a mí iglesia y entonces fue por primera vez que mire personas jóvenes de America Into this: When I knew clint was something surprising memory that tapeworm classes a day Monday with my students and was surprise to find North people American and they were with the students painting. that day became to me behind schedule because we had rain. Then between a me then church and was for the first time that it watches young people of America. rotflmao!
28th October 2008

Tapeworms
Yeah the past tense for the word have also translates to tapeworm. When I was first learning Spanish I thought Karina had a tapeworm. I was shocked, but I believed it because she is so small.
28th October 2008

Translate destiny?
I admit I don't know much Spanish, but I tried to read Karina's words. When I read this line, I felt it had a lot of meaning: "entonces este el fin del nuestro recorrido al lugar de destino" I thought it meant, "This point was the aim in our path of destiny. But youv'e translated it as "At that point we were had arrived at their host family. " Am I just a sappy romantic, or am I right? I mean, I don't see the spanish words for "host" or "family". I'm going to ask a Venezuelan...
28th October 2008

Julie
Yes Julie your right. This is a perfect example of how Hondurans can speak differently. In order for everyone to clearly understand what Karina was talking about I had to include the "Host Family" part. I tried to keep the translation as close as possible, however, there are a few details that might be a bit unclear. So I needed to clarify a couple details. Its easier to translate if you have someone telling you what it means rather than me typing out what Karina said. This way they can take some time to explain the significance of each word used. I would have loved to go into depth explaining everything, but it would have turned into a Spanish lesson real fast. Rest assured - I didn't embellish anything about me ;)

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb