Inside A Honduran Hospital


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
September 21st 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spasmo - UrolongSpasmo - UrolongSpasmo - Urolong

I don't know how they chose the name for this medication, but the name really sums up my day :)
Its never good to wake up with a fever and chills, but even worse to wake up here with a fever and chills. I didn't feel so hot this morning when I woke so I wrote about 6 pages of directions for the sub and asked Sarah to let Mr. Cesar (our principal) know I was sick. I soon thereafter curled up on the couch underneath my down comforter and fell back asleep.

When I woke up, there was three men standing over me. Although I was startled, I realized it was the school maintenence man and two of the workers who had come to fix our water tanks. After a two minute conversation and Saoul (little maintenance man) feeling my forehead, he called the school from our phone to let them know, apparently, that I was very very very sick. I didn't really think I was that sick.

I feel back asleep, in my room this time, only to wake up with one of the school administrators over me this time. "Jenna, Jenna, Sorry. I knocked but no one answered. We should take you to the doctor." So I got dressed and two of the school administrators took me to the emergency room. Once I was there, I fell asleep, only to wake up to the doctor talking this time. I vaguely remember wishing I would have worn makeup because the doctor was kind of cute (so, apparently the caribbean didn't cure all my flaws 😊).

They inserted an IV and drew blood and then the doctor and administrators (who are actually good friends) were talking outside the curtain. About what? I don't know. It could have been their latest vacations or it could have been that I was dying, but they didn't tell me anything and a nurse came in and injected the IV fluid with something. Still no news. Didn't have a clue, what was going on.

I asked one of the administrators who said that the doctor wasn't sure about the symptoms, maybe dengue fever or malaria, but they were running tests to check it out. At this point, a nurse with an empty gerber baby food jar walks in. And I'm thinking, "You've got to be kidding. I know they are going to ask me to pee in that thing." And they did. I would've been laughing if I wasn't so sick.

So here comes the interesting part. There is no pole to hang the IV bag on, so the nurse carries it to the bathroom with me and then holds while I go in the stall with the baby food jar. Ever try to get a baby food jar open with an IV in your hand? Who am I kidding? Probably not,heh? It hurts and is nearly impossible. I asked the nurse to open it. I don't know what she did with my IV bag while she was opening it but she did it and handed it back to me. I was shy, so it took me a bit, especially since I had one hand immobilized by an IV. So all is said and done and I come out of the stall and ask to wash my hand...There's no soap. I asked three different ways in Spanish if there was soap. The answer each time was no (I know you must be dying, Karen, sorry). So now I have two immobilized hands: one by an IV and the other by pee stink. What a disaster.

Long story short, after about another hour or hour and a half at the hospital, I was diagnosed with a kidney infection. I couldn't complain. At least it wasn't malaria. The school paid for everything and was very supportive and was very inquisitive, "Does it burn when you pee?" No, thanks for asking. I do however appreciate everything they did and how supportive they were. The best part of day was reading the names of my medications. Check out the pictures!

(I will be filling in the last week with blogs. Just wanted to share this story before I forgot the amusing details. Don't worry Mom and Dad, I'm fine.)

Advertisement



22nd September 2006

my hair is turning gray
Child!!!! Are you and your dad trying to do me in? First him, and then you. I am the only one staying at home and both of you end up in the hospital the same week. I am glad to know that you were taken care of and are feeling better. If Karen isn't ready to send over hand sanitizer, I am! I have been spraying my tables and desks for the last week, due to the colds, strep, and nasties going around. Today I thought about sanitizing the pencils after seeing a child chew on one. I love you and would appreciate you taking care of yourself! Will call on Sunday.
23rd September 2006

Hand Sanitizer
Well Jenna, not to worry, i have SEVERAL Hand Sanitizers all over my house, not to mention the HUGE one we received from a parent last year. Well, now i know what to send you for your birthday! :) I love reading your journals but visualizing the bathroom seen was a little hard to handle. Is this the story you told I would enjoy reading! :) Hey, i am glad you are feeling better.
23rd September 2006

germs!
Hi Jenna, Ok, heres a thought! If they didn't have any "soap" around and they didn't have any "gloves" around, a person would be very lucky not to leave the hospital with additonal illnesses. :) Actually, I am very glad they were so helpful and you are getting better. I'm sure more germs are spread around just eating with a group of preschool children. Although, i have to say, after 10 days of class, the children with NO English have learned all the different times during the day when they have to wash their hands. and...if they already washed their hands to eat and then decided to go use the bathroom, why does the teacher make them wash their hands again! :) ( hard to debate the issue when they can't speak English!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb