Break It Down Like a Racoon


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
September 4th 2006
Published: September 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can honestly say that I have not had a dull day with my fifth graders. On Friday, I told them if they spoke Spanish during English classes, they would have to translate their favorite song from Spanish to English and hand it into me by Monday. This is my favorite translation handed to me today. It is a reggaeton song by Daddy Yankee called Rompe translated to English. (FYI-Reggaeton is the equivelent to rap or hip hop in the States). "Break it, Break it, Break it, Break it down. Are you ready? My boom it doesn't limit at the time to brake her boom boom. The hottest asses than her racoon. It's time to loose the control." Apparently, racoons have hot asses. Who knew?!

Even apart from my classes, my day was fun today. I received my very first package. Thanks Karen! Now that we know the mail system works, I encourage you all to send me mail 😊 I had to go to the post office to pick it up but I didn't have I.D. so they wouldn't release the package to me. Seriously, how many Hondurans do you know with a name like Jenna Hoecker...Gringo name....Gringa...You would think they could put two and two together.

Once I had my I.D. however, the lady at the post office was very helpful. I once again forgot to make connections with my Spanish thought processes while at the post office though. I was looking for a scale to buy for our house and some math projects in the classroom so I decided to ask the mail clerk where I could find one. However, I think at first the lady thought I wanted to weigh myself on the mail scale. Thank goodness Spanish classes start tomorrow 😊 I was eventually able to explain myself and about 4 sets of Honduran directions later, I found a scale.

Sweet Dreams! I will try to take some more cool pictures to post soon.





Advertisement



5th September 2006

Jenna, everyday must be an adventure for you! I love the scale story :) and just to let you know, we sent 2 more packages today and that is an adventure in itself! ( but very much worth it!) . Plus, for anyone who mails a package or letter to Jenna and doesn't want to get "yelled' at from the postal service, please remember to write HONDURAS on the very Bottom and in BIG letters. Otherwise it is possible, looking at the zip code, it will go some place in the east coast and never leave the US. (which is what they think might of happened to the first package i sent. they say eventually someone will catch the problem and it may arrive in a few months!) Lets hope its on its way. Oh yes, and birthday cards to Jenna should be mailed VERY soon. It can take 3 weeks for her to get a letter! Jenna, keep the stories coming!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb