If drums were water


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I would certainly be dead from dehydration if drums were water. I feel like a junkie in a hospital. I can't wait to get back on the drum set and play to the setting sun. Distance can make the heart grow fonder and in my case it has caused musical withdrawl. Hello to all that read this blog. I am writing from Tegucigalpa which is the capitol city of Honduras. The city exists in a large mountainous valley and seems to have expanded well beyond its capacity. The streets have no linear direction and as we were taxied to our hotel the driver dived and dodged the congested traffic and steep allyways that would bring us there. After checking four hotels we finally booked a room. Today we walked around the central square. Here we saw many street vendors selling candy, fruit, shoes, t/shirts, and cell phone covers. The square is nice. It has a huge statue at the center of a general on a horse. The museams are closed for the week for semana santa so we were unable to go inside. Generally the city is like many others with people rushing around and vendors working the crowd. I am a little suprised that I haven't seen street musicians in the central parks playing for tips. There are open band shells at each square that are begging for a performance of any type. Even the night life that we have come across has been void of live entertainment. Maybe we are passing the wrong streets but I haven't seen any promations either. Perhaps the problem is raggatone. This is the spanish/carribean beat that blasts from the blown speakers of every truck and car on the road. It souds like this. Doon da do dat, doon da do dat, doon da do dat. If you say it aloud you will get a feel for it. Well, our trip has reached its hump and much remains to be seen. Tomarrow we are heading to the city of Leon which is in Nicaragua and then to the island of Ometepe. I am looking foward to Nicaragua because many travelers say its their favorite country. Aside from that I have been working on an instructional workbook for a variety of drumming theorys and styles and it is coming togather quite well, when I return to the States I plan on publishing the first volume.
Rock on,
Chad

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb