One week gone


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled


Untitled
Untitled Hullo

Feels like i've been here one month already!

Things are good - the rehab clinic is really interesting and i hope they are learning a little from me. They are loving their new equipment and people are just SO amazed to see the swiss balls you cant get them off it.

Work in the medical clinic is fine - not much to do. I go in every morning to take my dose of vitamins and touch wood had no problems as yet! The amount of parasites, diarrhea (?), malaria and Dengue here is crazy and the infant mortality is high due to such things. Very sad to see so many sick babies.

The people here, in general, are very friendly but considering we are the only white people in the town we do get our fair share of stares! The women and children always greet us with "Bye Bye" - i think the only words in the english they know. And then there are the men who shout stuff like "I love you baby" "Take care baby" And at least every other person shouts "OI, Gringo"

Otherwise eating very well and even learnt how
Loving the swiss ball Loving the swiss ball Loving the swiss ball

20 yr old patient with slight brain damage needs to increase his muscle strength so gave him lots of fun exercises to do on the ball. He enjoyed it so much we couldnĀ“t get him off it.
to make Tortillas yesterday! Fresh mangos and bananas every morning - but having the odd peanut butter and jelly sandwich to keep up my fat supplies.

Hope everyone is well and enjoy the photos.

xxxx


Bisous a tous


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Back painBack pain
Back pain

60 yr old with back pain, trying to increase core stability. Such a sweet guy and loved it so much he can back the following day.
The clinicThe clinic
The clinic

This is where i spend my afternoons. View taken from the balcony of our house so its not a long walk home.
My interpretor and IMy interpretor and I
My interpretor and I

Alex my interpretor walks with me to the clinic (30 mins away) in the morning and then walks me back. Makes me feel safer!
Walk into townWalk into town
Walk into town

Me and the girls going into town. Pretty hot out there despite the dark clouds.
The townThe town
The town

Trying to get a good picture of the town is hard because dont really want to get my camera out too often. But here is a idea. Nice huh??


24th June 2007

Wow!!
Marn, I am really enjoying your blogs, keep up the good work, what an amazing experience!! xx
24th June 2007

Marn, not the pink blancmange!! yuk! Work has been ok, had a bad day yesterday because of the hangover but I have just written it off and have to focus, only 2 1/2 weeks to go. Wow, the photos are great! I think you did the right thing! I must get on as am at work. Take care chickadee, and no blancmanges for me.
25th June 2007

Sounds amazing smelly - don't forget to have a drinkie or two!!!! Loads of love, M x

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb